The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 07:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,925
Double Foul Before Try Is Released

Sanity check since I'm no longer a rules nerd since coming off the court these last three seasons.

A1 is clearly in his shooting motion. Prior to the release of the shot, B2 and A2 foul each other. The try is successful.

Does continuous motion apply since one of the fouls was on the defense, or does continuous motion not apply since the double foul occurred while there was still team control prior to the release of the try.

Same situation, but the try is unsuccessful. Do we go to the AP arrow or does Team A get the ball back?


Now make the DF on A1 and B1 prior to the release of the try. Does that change any of the rulings?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Dec 15, 2024 at 09:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,233
Since we dont have a try and there's no continuation with a double foul...ball is dead, no basket, throw in for A
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 10:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Since we dont have a try and there's no continuation with a double foul...ball is dead, no basket, throw in for A
I'm participating in a discussion in a Facebook group in which I'm being told the status of the ball (try release or not released) is not of consequence in adjudicating a certain play scenario involving a double foul.



Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,233
Guessing it's not the NFHS Basketball or Basketball Official Forum pages as thTa the ok only ones other than the state page I follow for basketball.

Would be nice for a direct case play for this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 12:03pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Guessing it's not the NFHS Basketball or Basketball Official Forum pages as thTa the ok only ones other than the state page I follow for basketball.

Would be nice for a direct case play for this.
It's REF CHAT, officials mostly based out of the NYC area and North Jersey. The guy who runs it is a friend of mine from when he used to officiate down here in Virginia. But he's also one of the ones pushing the narrative that ball status does not matter in this situation.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,161
It's been discussed here several times, and never sufficiently resolved, to my way of thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 15, 2024, 05:28pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,536
I think you can only have continuous motion on a defensive foul. A double foul would kill the play IMO because it does not fit the premise of a defensive foul. Just like a blarge can result in a GT or BI if a player commits that violation and the ball has been released. I get that this is probably a non-addressed situation in the rules or interpretation, but the rules seem to make the intention clear. But I have been wrong before taking similar stances.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
go to 6:20 of the video
https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534

Double foul (Blarge) before release.
Did the officials get it right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 11:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
go to 6:20 of the video

https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534



Double foul (Blarge) before release.

Did the officials get it right?
Not in my opinion. But this is the same crew that messed up the opening tip, so who knows what they were thinking or applying.

Based on the throw-in, they ruled the double foul occurred after the release and counted the goal with the POI being the defensive team's throw-in.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 01:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,290
Continuous Motion ...

Does continuous motion apply to a double foul?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 03:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Does continuous motion apply to a double foul?
That's the original question?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
go to 6:20 of the video
https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534

Double foul (Blarge) before release.
Did the officials get it right?
Oof, not a good way to start out. When G20 received the pass, W11 became the primary defender and that matchup was in Center's PCA. Lead signaled quickly (as is often the case). The two whistles were nearly the same length, so it's plausible that Center didn't hear it and also did not 'post and hold' then make eye contact with Lead before signaling. At the time of G20's PCF (his part of the eventual double-foul call), the ball had not been released, so scoring the goal was incorrect. The ball should have been awarded to Gold at the closer of the two, 3' marks on the end line in Gold's front court as they had team control at the time of the double foul, per 4-36-2a(1).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Not in my opinion. But this is the same crew that messed up the opening tip, so who knows what they were thinking or applying.

Based on the throw-in, they ruled the double foul occurred after the release and counted the goal with the POI being the defensive team's throw-in.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
Nope, this was from last year. The non calling official is a female. No female in my previous Jump Ball/Backcourt thread.
See https://forum.officiating.com/basket...-blarge-2.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2024, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Sanity check since I'm no longer a rules nerd since coming off the court these last three seasons.

A1 is clearly in his shooting motion. Prior to the release of the shot, B2 and A2 foul each other. The try is successful.

Does continuous motion apply since one of the fouls was on the defense, or does continuous motion not apply since the double foul occurred while there was still team control prior to the release of the try.

Same situation, but the try is unsuccessful. Do we go to the AP arrow or does Team A get the ball back?


Now make the DF on A1 and B1 prior to the release of the try. Does that change any of the rulings?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
Rule 4-11-1 says, "Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight."

Rule 4-11-3 says "Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try or tap for goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately."

Part of the definition of a double foul (4-19-8) includes fouls by both teams, one of whom is referenced in 4-11-3. This does not 'cancel out' simply by the fact there is also a foul by any defensive player as in 4-11-1.

Neither the rules book nor casebook contain an exception for a double foul as it relates to continuous motion.

As a result, the ball should become dead immediately when the double foul is ruled. Play would resume in the two scenarios above with a throw-in at the designated spot per rules 4-36-2a(1) and 7-5-3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul after ball released not a foul. KansasJoe Basketball 5 Mon May 06, 2024 04:22pm
Double Foul-Double Tech AHSAA_Ref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
Released lawump Baseball 70 Sat Nov 10, 2007 03:17pm
When are runners released? UMP 64 Softball 4 Tue Jan 24, 2006 04:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1