The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Foul Before Try Is Released (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106345-double-foul-before-try-released.html)

Raymond Sun Dec 15, 2024 07:42am

Double Foul Before Try Is Released
 
Sanity check since I'm no longer a rules nerd since coming off the court these last three seasons.

A1 is clearly in his shooting motion. Prior to the release of the shot, B2 and A2 foul each other. The try is successful.

Does continuous motion apply since one of the fouls was on the defense, or does continuous motion not apply since the double foul occurred while there was still team control prior to the release of the try.

Same situation, but the try is unsuccessful. Do we go to the AP arrow or does Team A get the ball back?


Now make the DF on A1 and B1 prior to the release of the try. Does that change any of the rulings?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

SNIPERBBB Sun Dec 15, 2024 09:11am

Since we dont have a try and there's no continuation with a double foul...ball is dead, no basket, throw in for A

Raymond Sun Dec 15, 2024 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1053341)
Since we dont have a try and there's no continuation with a double foul...ball is dead, no basket, throw in for A

I'm participating in a discussion in a Facebook group in which I'm being told the status of the ball (try release or not released) is not of consequence in adjudicating a certain play scenario involving a double foul.



Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

SNIPERBBB Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:50am

Guessing it's not the NFHS Basketball or Basketball Official Forum pages as thTa the ok only ones other than the state page I follow for basketball.

Would be nice for a direct case play for this.

Raymond Sun Dec 15, 2024 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1053343)
Guessing it's not the NFHS Basketball or Basketball Official Forum pages as thTa the ok only ones other than the state page I follow for basketball.

Would be nice for a direct case play for this.

It's REF CHAT, officials mostly based out of the NYC area and North Jersey. The guy who runs it is a friend of mine from when he used to officiate down here in Virginia. But he's also one of the ones pushing the narrative that ball status does not matter in this situation.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Sun Dec 15, 2024 12:07pm

It's been discussed here several times, and never sufficiently resolved, to my way of thinking.

JRutledge Sun Dec 15, 2024 05:28pm

I think you can only have continuous motion on a defensive foul. A double foul would kill the play IMO because it does not fit the premise of a defensive foul. Just like a blarge can result in a GT or BI if a player commits that violation and the ball has been released. I get that this is probably a non-addressed situation in the rules or interpretation, but the rules seem to make the intention clear. But I have been wrong before taking similar stances.

Peace

Zoochy Sun Dec 22, 2024 09:16am

go to 6:20 of the video
https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534
:eek:
Double foul (Blarge) before release.
Did the officials get it right?

Raymond Sun Dec 22, 2024 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1053373)
go to 6:20 of the video

https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534

:eek:

Double foul (Blarge) before release.

Did the officials get it right?

Not in my opinion. But this is the same crew that messed up the opening tip, so who knows what they were thinking or applying.

Based on the throw-in, they ruled the double foul occurred after the release and counted the goal with the POI being the defensive team's throw-in.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Dec 22, 2024 01:45pm

Continuous Motion ...
 
Does continuous motion apply to a double foul?

Raymond Sun Dec 22, 2024 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053376)
Does continuous motion apply to a double foul?

That's the original question?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Mike Goodwin Sun Dec 22, 2024 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1053373)
go to 6:20 of the video
https://mshsaa.tv/?B=845534
:eek:
Double foul (Blarge) before release.
Did the officials get it right?

Oof, not a good way to start out. When G20 received the pass, W11 became the primary defender and that matchup was in Center's PCA. Lead signaled quickly (as is often the case). The two whistles were nearly the same length, so it's plausible that Center didn't hear it and also did not 'post and hold' then make eye contact with Lead before signaling. At the time of G20's PCF (his part of the eventual double-foul call), the ball had not been released, so scoring the goal was incorrect. The ball should have been awarded to Gold at the closer of the two, 3' marks on the end line in Gold's front court as they had team control at the time of the double foul, per 4-36-2a(1).

Zoochy Sun Dec 22, 2024 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053375)
Not in my opinion. But this is the same crew that messed up the opening tip, so who knows what they were thinking or applying.

Based on the throw-in, they ruled the double foul occurred after the release and counted the goal with the POI being the defensive team's throw-in.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Nope, this was from last year. The non calling official is a female. No female in my previous Jump Ball/Backcourt thread.
See https://forum.officiating.com/basket...-blarge-2.html

Mike Goodwin Sun Dec 22, 2024 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053340)
Sanity check since I'm no longer a rules nerd since coming off the court these last three seasons.

A1 is clearly in his shooting motion. Prior to the release of the shot, B2 and A2 foul each other. The try is successful.

Does continuous motion apply since one of the fouls was on the defense, or does continuous motion not apply since the double foul occurred while there was still team control prior to the release of the try.

Same situation, but the try is unsuccessful. Do we go to the AP arrow or does Team A get the ball back?


Now make the DF on A1 and B1 prior to the release of the try. Does that change any of the rulings?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Rule 4-11-1 says, "Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight."

Rule 4-11-3 says "Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try or tap for goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately."

Part of the definition of a double foul (4-19-8) includes fouls by both teams, one of whom is referenced in 4-11-3. This does not 'cancel out' simply by the fact there is also a foul by any defensive player as in 4-11-1.

Neither the rules book nor casebook contain an exception for a double foul as it relates to continuous motion.

As a result, the ball should become dead immediately when the double foul is ruled. Play would resume in the two scenarios above with a throw-in at the designated spot per rules 4-36-2a(1) and 7-5-3.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1