The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2023, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
TThe Official whose has the Ball at the start of the drive takes the Call.
That's not always the NCAAW mechanic
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2023, 09:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thanks.



Can it be solved?
To me it's quite simple and there is nothing to be solved.

If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead, whether it's part of a single foul or a double foul. It was actually part of NCAA Men's preseason clinic videos a couple years in conjunction with the expansion of replay review, and their rules are the same as high school in regards to this situation.

It's clean and simple.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sat Dec 16, 2023 at 10:19am.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2023, 10:42am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,351
Keep It Clean And Simple ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead ....
Which allows a successful goal be scored if the try is released (no team control) before the illegal contact by an offensive player and the try is a successful after the illegal contact by an offensive player, while denying that such a successful goal be scored if the try is released after the illegal contact (no team control) by an offensive player?

6-7-4: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: A player-control or team-control foul occurs. Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap for field goal ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when: c. Article 7 (a foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs) occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for field goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight … continuous motion.

Sounds simple and rational.

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.

However, on the third hand we have this:

6.7.4 SITUATION: Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a field-goal try or tap. After the ball is in flight, A1 illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor. The ball goes through the basket. RULING: The foul by B1 did not cause the ball to become dead since A1 had started the trying or tapping motion. However, airborne shooter A1’s foul is a player-control foul which does cause the ball to become dead immediately. No goal can be scored even if the ball had already gone through the basket before the foul. Since the goal is unsuccessful, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed in the lane spaces as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. The situation is a false double foul. (4-11; 4-19-6)

But this (above), on the fourth hand, is not a double foul, it's a false double foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 16, 2023 at 10:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2023, 10:46am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That's not always the NCAAW mechanic
Bob:

I was writing quickly. I knew that it was not as simple as that but back in the middle and late 1980s the procedure was introduced in CCA's Women's Two- and Three-Person Officials Manual. I am sure that the procedure has been refined since I retired from college officiating in 2008. But the fact still remains: By Rule, it is has never been possible to have a "blarge". The NCAA Women's Committee understood this from the start while the NFHS and NCAA Men's Committees still cling to a 65 year-plus impossibility.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2023, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.
It's not "supposedly" or "by tradition."

It's right in the definitions. I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.

And, that's the reason for the case play allowing the basket when the ball has been released.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2023, 02:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,351
Fouls ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.
A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul.

A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.

A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2023, 04:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,351
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
4-11-2 and -3 (continuous motion) conflict;
4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 17, 2023 at 06:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2023, 09:07am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?
Three days ago from Raymond:

"4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it. If a teammate of A1 was part of the double foul, continuous motion would not apply. Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul."

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2023, 12:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,351
Not Going To Die On This Hill ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul.
Nor does it say that a player is also a teammate of himself, even though he probably is.

As Raymond said "4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it."

Closest doesn't mean the same as "touching", it's just real close.

I'm not going to die on any hill regarding this "before the release" situation.

This may be one of those issues that only the NFHS can fully address, not the rule "experts" on the Forum.

I'm not being sarcastic here, I truly do view many Forum posters as rule experts.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 18, 2023 at 01:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2023, 07:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,949
Based on a FB post I just read by the NCAA-Women's Rules Editor, in their games the ball is immediately dead if the try has not been released and there is a double foul. So in both Men's and Women's College there is no continuous motion on a double foul. As far as I know, there is no discernable difference in the rule at the HS level.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blarge The_Rookie Basketball 98 Wed Feb 03, 2016 03:52pm
blarge Zoochy Basketball 4 Tue Mar 06, 2012 01:06am
NBA blarge Nevadaref Basketball 26 Fri Feb 22, 2008 07:54pm
The Blarge tjones1 Basketball 4 Thu Dec 28, 2006 01:46am
NBA Blarge All_Heart Basketball 8 Sat Apr 15, 2006 01:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1