The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
NBA Blarge

There was a blarge in the Chicago vs Washington game last night in the 3rd quarter. Ed Rush was one of the officials involved. They got together and Rush took it to the table and reported his block.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Apparently one or both officials gave preliminary signals? Something I want to ingrain as a habit is being aware of a second whistle and holding off on a preliminary signal... is it actually a blarge if only one call is reported? I thought if both officials are convinced of what they ruled, then both fouls are reported (rare to exceedingly rare?). If only one official gave a preliminary, then you would think the best ruling to leave any discussion with would be to go with the prelim'd call; if boths calls were prelim'd then how often would both the block and the charge be reported?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjenning
Apparently one or both officials gave preliminary signals? Something I want to ingrain as a habit is being aware of a second whistle and holding off on a preliminary signal... is it actually a blarge if only one call is reported? I thought if both officials are convinced of what they ruled, then both fouls are reported (rare to exceedingly rare?). If only one official gave a preliminary, then you would think the best ruling to leave any discussion with would be to go with the prelim'd call; if boths calls were prelim'd then how often would both the block and the charge be reported?
In NFHS and NCAA Men's both fouls are always reported. In NCAA Women's they decide who's primary it was in and go with that call, I assume NBA is the same.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
In NFHS and NCAA Men's both fouls are always reported.
Thanks. In practice, how often are both fouls actually reported? I don't recall ever seeing both fouls reported, but I know I have seen this situation... I can't recall having been directly involved in a blarge situation yet. Is there a rules reference (yes, I'm being lazy when I ask this) for how to handle this? I guess it would be classified as a double foul (4-19-8), but each official would report their own call... which means that a double foul signal would not be used(?).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
In NFHS and NCAA Men's both fouls are always reported. In NCAA Women's they decide who's primary it was in and go with that call, I assume NBA is the same.
You would assume incorrectly. "If a double foul occurs as a result of a differnece in opinion of the officials, no points can be scored, and play shall resume with a jump ball in the center circle between any two opponents in the game at that time. No substitute may participate in the jump ball." Rule 12B - Section VI - f.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjenning
Thanks. In practice, how often are both fouls actually reported? I don't recall ever seeing both fouls reported, but I know I have seen this situation... I can't recall having been directly involved in a blarge situation yet. Is there a rules reference (yes, I'm being lazy when I ask this) for how to handle this? I guess it would be classified as a double foul (4-19-8), but each official would report their own call... which means that a double foul signal would not be used(?).
By rule they should always be reported. Everytime I've seen one in NCAA-M both were reported. I have yet to see a blarge occur in NFHS game, probably because I don't watch many.

Check out 4.19.8 SITUATION C.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
You would assume incorrectly. "If a double foul occurs as a result of a differnece in opinion of the officials, no points can be scored, and play shall resume with a jump ball in the center circle between any two opponents in the game at that time. No substitute may participate in the jump ball." Rule 12B - Section VI - f.
Guess I shouldn't assume anymore. Thanks for the actual ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to AZ_REF
There was a blarge in a game here that was reported as both and nearly incited a riot. I see a few blarges in HS games (mostly under (jv + frosh) officials). However 99% of the time they just go with one of the calls.

This was a varsity game between two rivals. One was a small christian school and the other was a small school from a mining town. Both officials report and the crowd goes out of control. An assistant coach, a whole section of fans and another fan (all from the visting school - mining town) end up being tossed. The home school calls the police to protect the officials after the game.

Not a good situation at all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2006, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
In NFHS and NCAA Men's both fouls are always reported. In NCAA Women's they decide who's primary it was in and go with that call, I assume NBA is the same.
It is the same in the league as well, but if you guys watched closely, Eddie F. Rush just put his hands up like he was going to signal a block and Mony McCutcheon cocked back like he was going to punch it out, but neither completed the signal, they got together and I was certain Eddie was going to take it because he was the CC and if it was wrong he wanted to be the one to blame, cause that is true Crew Chief Mentality.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blarge -- or was it? rainmaker Basketball 3 Sun Mar 26, 2006 09:04am
Blarge All_Heart Basketball 14 Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm
Another Blarge Snake~eyes Basketball 6 Fri Jan 13, 2006 03:16pm
Blarge or not? ChuckElias Basketball 9 Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:57am
blarge Bart Tyson Basketball 13 Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1