![]() |
|
|
|||
Devil's Advocate:
9-2-11: No teammates of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. Since A2 went OOB to catch the throw-in pass, perhaps A2 violated before even touching the ball. That would make it a throw-in violation. |
|
|||
Old Interpretation ...
Quote:
And possibly another example of a well intentioned NFHS rule and interpretation change where the NFHS did not do their thorough due diligence and properly edit all rule language in regard to the change.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I believe the intent of that rule is not allow them to switch throwers (or to have a teammate standing OOB as if they would be a thrower). I don't think it is meant to apply to a teammate trying to catch the throwin but going OOB in trying to do so.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
If A1 is the thrower and A2 crosses the boundary plane on the same end line or side line as the thrower before catching the throw-in pass, which does not break the plane of the boundary, this could certainly be a throw-in violation per 9-2-3.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Out of bounds...violation | paniolofan26 | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:12pm |
Out of Bounds Violation Yes/No | habram | Basketball | 26 | Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:44am |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Out of bounds violation | BrentD22 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 02:48pm |
In bounds violation? | kdays78 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:32pm |