![]() |
Throw-in Violation or Out of Bounds Violation
Scenario:
Team A has been awarded a designated sport throw-in on the end line. Player A1 from Team A throws an errant pass to teammate A2. Teammate A2 has to go out of bounds to catch the ball. The ball doesn't touch any other player before touching teammate A2. What do you have? Out of Bounds violation or Throw-in violation? Where does Team B throw the ball in? From the designated spot where Team A was or at the spot on the sideline where teammate B caught the ball out of bounds? |
Quote:
These are the best Rules for the described play. 7-2-1 7-6-2 |
Out Of Bounds Violation ...
Quote:
9-2-2: Throw-In Provisions: The ball must be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. Now for guys who have been officiating over forty years, like me, this could be confusing (isn't everything confusing at our age) because this used to be a throwin violation. To make it more confusing, if Team A, the inbounding team, threw the inbound pass directly to a Team B player who was out of bounds, this was considered a throwin violation by Team A, and the ball was given to Team B back at original spot of the throwin. Thankfully, to quote the raven, "Nevermore". Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.? |
Citations ...
Quote:
7-6-2: The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower must release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in begins. The throw-in pass must touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The throw-in pass must not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. |
Letters and Numbers ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
First, players on the same team and the team with the ball are traditionally called A1 and A2. Players on the team without the ball are B1, B2, etc.
So, I'm assuming your question was about two players on the same team. Others have answered that question, but, consider this....what if it were a throw-in violation? If it were, that means that, for a throw-in near the boundary line, team B could just ensure they had one foot OOB and touch the ball in order to cause a throw-in violation on team A. Does that make any sense? For team B to touch the ball while OOB and then get possession of the ball as a result? Of course not. Thus, it is an OOB violation on team B...team A's ball at the spot where it was touched OOB. |
Quote:
|
Thank you all for clarifying this!
|
Glory Days (Bruce Springsteen, 1985) ...
Quote:
|
Thank You Don Cornelius ...
Quote:
I’m a white guy but I enjoyed Motown style rhythm and blues music and soul music, and I still do to this day. The "Line Dances" were great. <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/5P-TXxoWTSE" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Devil's Advocate:
9-2-11: No teammates of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. Since A2 went OOB to catch the throw-in pass, perhaps A2 violated before even touching the ball. That would make it a throw-in violation. |
Old Interpretation ...
Quote:
And possibly another example of a well intentioned NFHS rule and interpretation change where the NFHS did not do their thorough due diligence and properly edit all rule language in regard to the change. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
If A1 is the thrower and A2 crosses the boundary plane on the same end line or side line as the thrower before catching the throw-in pass, which does not break the plane of the boundary, this could certainly be a throw-in violation per 9-2-3.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am. |