![]() |
|
|
|||
If the foul takes place before time expires, put time on the clock and put people on the line. If the foul takes place after the horn, then I guess you will not have anyone on the line (shot gone and foul before the shooter comes back to the floor). But in general, the foul when the time expires should have time put on the clock.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Fractions Of A Second ...
Quote:
Official simultaneously sees a foul, sounds whistle, and observes a definite 0:00 on the clock, but no horn (the automatic horn was later found to be turned on (see above procedure)). No other definite knowledge regarding time, other than 0:00 on the clock, from anybody, partner, or table (nobody got a peek at 0:01 for example). With no definite knowledge, what rule allows one to put time back on he clock to shoot free throws in a high school game when there may be fractions of a second remaining in the game? Note: The only interpenetration that allows time adjustments with no definite knowledge is about a clock that was erroneously turned on. There was no error involved in this play. Basketball Rules Interpretations 2009-10 Situation 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. Ruling: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Feb 22, 2021 at 11:27am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
You deflected, so I’ll simplify. What you suggest is wholly unsupported by NFHS rules, cases, and annual interpretations. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Don’t expect him to ever admit that he is wrong about anything. He hasn’t done so in the almost twenty years that I’ve been on this forum.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() IJS!!!! Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
2020-21 NCAA Men's Casebook
A.R. 127. In a game without a courtside monitor available, and with the score
tied near the expiration of time in the second half: 1. Shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting, but time expires before the release of the ball and the try is successful; RULING 1: When the official determines that the foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, and signals for the clock to stop and the timer fails to stop the clock, a timing mistake occurred and the official shall put time back on the clock to when the official has definitive knowledge as to the time on the clock when the foul was called. The goal shall count. In this case, A1 is awarded one free throw. However, when the official does not have definitive knowledge as to the time on the game clock when the foul was called and the timer does not stop the clock, this is not a timer’s mistake and time should not be placed back on the game clock. When the official determines that the foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, the basket shall not count and A1 is awarded two free throws. A1 shall shoot both free throws even if the first is successful. When both free throws are unsuccessful, the game continues with an extra period(s). On a foul that occurs near the expiration of time, officials must determine that the clock did not stop when the whistle sounded either because a timing mistake occurred or because it was so near the expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock. In the first case, time is put back on the game clock and the game has not ended. In the second case, time is not placed back on the clock and the game has ended. When both free throws are unsuccessful, the game continues with an extra period(s). |
|
|||
Quote:
Some of yall are so married to a book that does not tell you everything to do in multiple situations and then you want to state what should be done with a situation that might have been addressed 20 years ago and never spoken of before. Where I live, it is largely accepted to put time on the clock if we know we called a foul before the clock ran out. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw | HawkeyeCubP | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 14, 2016 06:53pm |
Free Throw | Zoochy | Basketball | 15 | Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:04pm |
Fumble on throw in and free throw | billyu2 | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm |
throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |