The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 06:29pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw

After a successful FT by B1, all A players run toward the other end of the court, and B2 grabs the ball, steps out of bounds, and completes a throw-in to B3, who takes two dribbles away from the endline before the play is whistled dead.
1. Too late to rectify, by rule?
2. If not too late to rectify, is a game clock adjustment permitted, by rule?
3. If B3 immediately scored, do those points stay on the board?
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
After a successful FT by B1, all A players run toward the other end of the court, and B2 grabs the ball, steps out of bounds, and completes a throw-in to B3, who takes two dribbles away from the endline before the play is whistled dead.
1. Too late to rectify, by rule?
2. If not too late to rectify, is a game clock adjustment permitted, by rule?
3. If B3 immediately scored, do those points stay on the board?

10.2.4 SITUATION:
Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put "consumed" time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Subbing after made second free throw Jack Basketball 24 Mon Dec 01, 2008 01:14pm
Throw-In by Wrong Team Sven Basketball 4 Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:28am
Substitution after a made free throw stewcall Basketball 7 Sat May 10, 2003 01:05am
Clarification after made free throw GregAlan Basketball 3 Wed Mar 19, 2003 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1