The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 842
Free Throw

A1 has the ball for a Free throw. After a second or two, A1 looses control of the ball and it bounces into the lane. B1 steps in the lane, but does not touch the ball, and steps back. Now the ball is just resting in the lane. Everyone has froze. What do you do? What do you call? Why??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
A1 has the ball for a Free throw. After a second or two, A1 looses control of the ball and it bounces into the lane. B1 steps in the lane, but does not touch the ball, and steps back. Now the ball is just resting in the lane. Everyone has froze. What do you do? What do you call? Why??
9.1.1. It is a violation when A1 loses the ball and it goes into the lane. Ball dead then. Bs actions are nothing. If you bounce ball and shooter mishandles your pass, no violation. Reset it. If he has it and is then clumsy, violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 12:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 842
The case book play references rule 9-1-3a and e.
9-3-1a says the thrower has to release the throw within 10 seconds. 9-1-3e say thrower can not break the plane with their feet.
I do not believe either of these rules have been violated yet. Unless loosing control of the ball constitutes as a throw.
Couldn't team A request time out to prevent a violation from occurring?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
The case book play references rule 9-1-3a and e.
9-3-1a says the thrower has to release the throw within 10 seconds. 9-1-3e say thrower can not break the plane with their feet.
I do not believe either of these rules have been violated yet. Unless loosing control of the ball constitutes as a throw.
Couldn't team A request time out to prevent a violation from occurring?
The case play itself is authoritative. They have been approved and published etc. These statements are in the beginning of book. You can consider it a throw that did not hit rim etc. when it hits floor it is over.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 02:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
The case book play references rule 9-1-3a and e.
9-3-1a says the thrower has to release the throw within 10 seconds. 9-1-3e say thrower can not break the plane with their feet.
I do not believe either of these rules have been violated yet. Unless loosing control of the ball constitutes as a throw.
Couldn't team A request time out to prevent a violation from occurring?
The instruction in the case book play is for the official to sound the whistle after A1 loses the ball in order to prevent any violations by those in marked lane spaces. The thrower lost his opportunity at the FT by failing to keep control of the ball. That is the approved ruling and how it should be called.
The team cannot request a TO as no player is in control nor is the ball at their disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 11:17am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The team cannot request a TO as no player is in control nor is the ball at their disposal.
An interesting interpretation of at their disposal.
This would apply to a thrower on a throw-in who lost control and the ball bounced out of the 3 foot spot, would it not?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
An interesting interpretation of at their disposal.
This would apply to a thrower on a throw-in who lost control and the ball bounced out of the 3 foot spot, would it not?
Is interesting. On the FT, when the ball hits the lane, the try/opportunity is over. The throw in case play has Thrower in losing the ball and then leaving the spot to retrieve it. Ruling is violation because he left designated spot---as opposed to failing to throw ball directly into court. i believe it probably should have said that also.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
The case book play references rule 9-1-3a and e.
9-3-1a says the thrower has to release the throw within 10 seconds. 9-1-3e say thrower can not break the plane with their feet.
I do not believe either of these rules have been violated yet. Unless loosing control of the ball constitutes as a throw.
Couldn't team A request time out to prevent a violation from occurring?
Before the case was in the book, we had several discussions here about how to call it -- with all (?) of the options being discussed.

FED issued the case play -- now it's clear.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
Pretty sure in a galaxy long ago and far away, the case book stated just the opposite, that the official was to kill the play before any lane violation occurred, and re-administer the freebie(s).

To me, that galaxy made more sense.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
Pretty sure in a galaxy long ago and far away, the case book stated just the opposite, that the official was to kill the play before any lane violation occurred, and re-administer the freebie(s).

To me, that galaxy made more sense.
You are correct. It did say that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
Hypothetical third world play....

Ball is at free throwers disposal--he needs to adjust his shooting sleeve, so he a) hands (or tosses) the ball to his teammate, who's directly behind him outside the semi-circle, adjusts, and re-takes the ball, b) sets the ball down outside the semicircle, adjusts, and reclaims.

Violation in either (and why), or is the FT count still on?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
Pretty sure in a galaxy long ago and far away, the case book stated just the opposite, that the official was to kill the play before any lane violation occurred, and re-administer the freebie(s).



To me, that galaxy made more sense.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You are correct. It did say that.

And darn it if I didn't mess this up just last week. Surprised me (T, 2p crew), and L was a rookie so he sure wasn't going to call anything. A1 muffs, she takes a step in, gets it, retreats, resets. Under either interpretation (old and new) I should have had a whistle. Instead I was clueless without an excuse, and let the FT proceed.

Had never seen it in eight years, then I did…and wasn't ready. Oops.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Free Throw Zoochy Basketball 24 Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:32am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Free Throw Virginia Basketball 2 Thu Feb 10, 2000 05:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1