The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2020, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,182
This is not a correctable error. Because the merited free throws were awarded to the correct players, they would count. The only correction involved would be clearing the lane for the out-of-order personal foul free throws, and awarding possession to Team A at the division line opposite the table per the technical foul rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 03:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
This was a correctable error....failure to award merited FTs to A1. After shooting the FTs for the T, you discussed it, realizing A1 was not given the merited FTs, and corrected the error by awarding A1 the FTs that were merited but not shot when they should have been.

If you had simply shot them out of order thinking that it was the right way to do it and realized later that the order was wrong, that wouldn't be a correctable error....case 8.6.2B.

So, the wrong order itself isn't a correctable error, but realizing A1 didn't get FTs that should have been given is a correctable error.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 10:45am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,450
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If you had simply shot them out of order thinking that it was the right way to do it and realized later that the order was wrong, that wouldn't be a correctable error....case 8.6.2B.
Nice citation Camron Rust.

8.6.2 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
FTs shot in wrong order - correctable

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice citation Camron Rust.



8.6.2 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)

In the case play cited, if you shoot the FTs In the correct order(bonus and then technical), do you then administer the throw-in to start the second quarter based on the technical foul, or the AP arrow?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhistlesAndStripes View Post
In the case play cited, if you shoot the FTs In the correct order(bonus and then technical), do you then administer the throw-in to start the second quarter based on the technical foul, or the AP arrow?
Hint 1: Can part of a penalty carry over from one quarter to the next?

Hint 2; WTF difference does it make (for this question) in what order the FTs were shot?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Hint 1: Can part of a penalty carry over from one quarter to the next?

Hint 2; WTF difference does it make (for this question) in what order the FTs were shot?


1. Yes
2. This gives away the answer that you use the arrow.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 11:48am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,450
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can part of a penalty carry over from one quarter to the next?
5-6: Each quarter or extra period ends when the signal illuminates
or sounds indicating time has expired, as in 1-14.
EXCEPTIONS:
1. If the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or
extra period ends when the try or tap ends.
2. If a held ball or violation occurs so near the expiration of time that the
clock is not stopped before time expires, the quarter or extra period ends
with the held ball or violation.
3. If a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the
clock stopped before time expires or after time expires, but while the ball
is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends
when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed. No
penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to
the next,
except when a correctable error, as in 2-10, is rectified.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhistlesAndStripes View Post
1. Yes
2. This gives away the answer that you use the arrow.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
1. Incorrect

2. Not any more than hint 1.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice citation Camron Rust.

8.6.2 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)
Curiously, in which quarter A1’s technical foul takes place is fully dependent upon the number of fouls Team B committed during the first quarter! If they have six or fewer, A1’s T starts the second quarter. I find it strange that when to penalize A1 depends upon the foul count of the opposing team.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2020, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Curiously, in which quarter A1’s technical foul takes place is fully dependent upon the number of fouls Team B committed during the first quarter! If they have six or fewer, A1’s T starts the second quarter. I find it strange that when to penalize A1 depends upon the foul count of the opposing team.
Yes, I put it in the “is what is” category. Qtr has beginning and end. If it’s 7th team foul there are free throws to be shot because of 1st qtr foul. Just the rule. If only 6 then ball dead and nothing left to do then T. Qtr really is over. I wouldn’t mind seeing them carry over the T throwin on cases where qtr hasn’t ended because of FTs. I think it’s more a product of saying when a qtr ends..If any of that makes sense...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 20, 2020, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
this is not a correctable error. Because the merited free throws were awarded to the correct players, they would count. The only correction involved would be clearing the lane for the out-of-order personal foul free throws, and awarding possession to team a at the division line opposite the table per the technical foul rules.
👏🏀👍🏻
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error - wrong way jump ballgame99 Basketball 28 Thu Feb 05, 2015 01:32pm
Correctable?--end of half shot Raymond Basketball 18 Mon Dec 29, 2008 08:21am
Wrong player correctable error ChuckElias Basketball 27 Fri Nov 03, 2006 09:39am
Reporting wrong # on foul correctable roadking Basketball 2 Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:41pm
Batting Out Order or Just Wrong Numbers? streamdoc Softball 8 Thu May 05, 2005 02:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1