The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 02:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Because player control doesn't appear to be part of the backcourt rule.
So if I'm holding the ball in the front court I can step on the division line? (Based on you totally overthinking the rule, you are saying that a player can legally do this)

How is that any different than stepping on the division line while dribbling the ball in the front court.

To quote another post: 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 02:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 02:55pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
I'll sit here and wait while you explain why a player with FC status holding the ball is any different than a player with FC status dribbling the ball or how 9-9-1 doesn't apply.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Holding, Dribbling ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I'll sit here and wait while you explain why a player with FC status holding the ball is any different than a player with FC status dribbling the ball ...
Because while both have player control, one is holding the ball, and one is dribbling the ball. And player control is not written into the backcourt rule.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Because while both have player control, one is holding the ball, and one is dribbling the ball. And player control is not written into the backcourt rule.
Based on your new interpretation of the BC rule, a player who is dribbling while having FC status can step into the backcourt between each bat of the ball.

Cool interp Bro.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 03:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Player Control ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What part of 9-9-1 doesn't apply? I'm waiting.
Doesn't apply to what? Sorry, not sure I understand your question other than to restate that player control is not written into the backcourt rule.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:12pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Doesn't apply to what? Sorry, not sure I understand your question other than to restate that player control is not written into the backcourt rule.
What part of player who is dribbling the ball and steps into the back court doesn't meet the requirements of 9-9-1?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 02:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Touch ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
So if I'm holding the ball in the front court I can step on the division line? (Based on you totally overthinking the rule, you are saying that a player can legally do this)
Never said that.

9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:01pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Never said that.

9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
What part of 9-9-1 doesn't apply to a player who is dribbling as opposed to a player holding the ball? 4-12-1 tells us there is no difference as to the ball's status. You even posted it yourself. So, as usual, you are arguing with yourself and making contradictory assertions.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 03:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Purpose And Intent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
4-12-1 tells us there is no difference as to the ball's status.
The ball's status as in player control? Yes. But player control isn't mentioned in the backcourt rule (as written).

We need something additional to complete the interpretation, 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note, or purpose and intent.

I'll settle for purpose and intent, but would prefer 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:14pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The ball's status as in player control? Yes. But player control isn't mentioned in the backcourt rule (as written).

We need something additional to complete the interpretation, 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note, or purpose and intent.

I'll settle for purpose and intent, but would prefer 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note.
4-4-1 is written to give the ball FC/BC status while in contact with a player who doesn't have PC. Irrelevant to this conversation.

9-9-1 is all that is needed.

A player who is dribbling is contact with the ball by RULEBOOK definition. Leave the Webster definition out of the conversation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 03:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Boundary ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
9-9-1 is all that is needed.
9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after ...

The ball has to be touched.

Not dribbled (which often doesn't involve touching).

Not player control (which often involves dribbling).

9-3-1-Note is great (a player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds. The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds) but while it mentions boundary lines (like the division line) it also specifically mentions out of bounds violations.

Purpose and intent?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:30pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after ...

The ball has to be touched.

Not dribbled (which often doesn't involve touching).

Not player control (which often involves dribbling).

9-3-1-Note is great (a player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds. The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds) but while it mentions boundary lines (like the division line) it also specifically mentions out of bounds violations.

Purpose and intent?
4-12-1 tells us there is no difference between holding and dribbling. You cited it then ignored it. TYPICAL

Like I said, in your games a player can dribble while jumping back forth over the division line.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2019, 03:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Definitions ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Leave the Webster definition out of the conversation.
I believe that all my definitions have been NFHS definitions.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? luvhoops Basketball 32 Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:11am
Backcourt violation or not??? splitveer Basketball 12 Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:01am
Backcourt Violation?? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 6 Sat Feb 06, 2010 05:20pm
10/8 second backcourt violation furlu55 Basketball 3 Tue Mar 10, 2009 05:41am
Backcourt Violation? williebfree Basketball 39 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1