![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Holding Or Dribbling ...
Quote:
4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. 4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
4-4-1 accounts for players who DO NOT HAVE PLAYER CONTROL/POSSESSION. A player who has PC meets all conditions of 9-9-1. He stepped into the back court while in possession of the ball. It is irrelevant if he does so while actually batting the ball or in between bats. Quit using dictionary definitions. PC equals touching the ball whether there is contact or not with the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Player Control ...
Quote:
9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. No mention of player control in the rule (other then needing player control to establish team control). 4-4-1 seems to be say that if either the ball or the player touches backcourt it's the same as if both touched the backcourt. 4-4-1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player is touching the backcourt. I'm still not certain, and I'm still looking for relevant citations. Maybe 9-3-1-Note (A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds. The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds) is the correct citation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Touching ...
Quote:
"While in player control, a ball handler, or dribbler, must not step into the backcourt", would be nice, but it's not the rule. That's the way I call it every time, but it's not the rule. We need to throw in 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note, or purpose and intent, or something else I'm missing, to complete the rule interpretation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed May 15, 2019 at 02:54pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How is that any different than stepping on the division line while dribbling the ball in the front court. To quote another post: 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 02:53pm. |
|
|||
|
I'll sit here and wait while you explain why a player with FC status holding the ball is any different than a player with FC status dribbling the ball or how 9-9-1 doesn't apply.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Holding, Dribbling ...
Because while both have player control, one is holding the ball, and one is dribbling the ball. And player control is not written into the backcourt rule.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Cool interp Bro.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 03:09pm. |
|
|||
|
Touch ...
Quote:
9-9-1: Backcourt: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
What part of 9-9-1 doesn't apply to a player who is dribbling as opposed to a player holding the ball? 4-12-1 tells us there is no difference as to the ball's status. You even posted it yourself. So, as usual, you are arguing with yourself and making contradictory assertions.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed May 15, 2019 at 03:03pm. |
|
|||
|
Purpose And Intent ...
The ball's status as in player control? Yes. But player control isn't mentioned in the backcourt rule (as written).
We need something additional to complete the interpretation, 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note, or purpose and intent. I'll settle for purpose and intent, but would prefer 4-4-1, or 9-3-1-Note.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation? | luvhoops | Basketball | 32 | Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:11am |
| Backcourt violation or not??? | splitveer | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:01am |
| Backcourt Violation?? | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 6 | Sat Feb 06, 2010 05:20pm |
| 10/8 second backcourt violation | furlu55 | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 10, 2009 05:41am |
| Backcourt Violation? | williebfree | Basketball | 39 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:21pm |