The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2019, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
3.2.2 SITUATION B: Three minutes before the game starts, it is discovered: (a) two Team B members have wrong numbers in the scorebook; or (b) two Team B team members are wearing the same number. RULING: In (a), if either or both team member’s number is changed in the scorebook, one technical foul is charged to Team B. If there is no request for change or if neither becomes a player, thus avoiding the change, there is no penalty. In (b), a technical foul is charged to Team B upon discovery of the identical numbers. Only one team member may wear a given number; the other must change to a number not already in use before participating. (10-1-2)

Note: This (below) is for a number added, not a wrong number.

3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned onto the court. In (a), the ball is put in play by a throw-in from A1 to A2. The horn sounds and the scorer informs the officials that No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of the third quarter. RULING: In (a), No. 25 is currently in the game and became a player when he/she legally entered the court. Since his or her name and number must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A. In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25 attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-1-2b)
The part b ruling in the second case book play listed above is incorrect and as bad as the infamous backcourt interp.

Why? The kid participated. By rule, he must be in the book. The scorer is required to track all players and substitutes who enter.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2019, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The part b ruling in the second case book play listed above is incorrect and as bad as the infamous backcourt interp.

Why? The kid participated. By rule, he must be in the book. The scorer is required to track all players and substitutes who enter.
Just to add to that, many states have a limit of quarters played/day. In Ohio it is 5. So if that player played 3 qtrs. in the JV game, the one minute he played in the 2nd quarter of the varsity game has to be accounted for as his/her 4th qtr. of the day. The only way to do that would be to add the name to the book.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Just to add to that, many states have a limit of quarters played/day. In Ohio it is 5. So if that player played 3 qtrs. in the JV game, the one minute he played in the 2nd quarter of the varsity game has to be accounted for as his/her 4th qtr. of the day. The only way to do that would be to add the name to the book.
But those types of eligibility issues are never the purview of NFHS or included in the playing rules.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
But those types of eligibility issues are never the purview of NFHS or included in the playing rules.
Didn't say they were. The point is, if you work in a state that has limitations on quarters played, most likely that state would expect the official and the scorekeeper (upon discovery of the issue) to account for that quarter played by having the player added to the book which IS in the playing rules of the NFHS.

Last edited by billyu2; Sat Feb 23, 2019 at 09:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2019, 06:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,498
Incorrect ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned onto the court. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of the third quarter. RULING: In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25 attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-1-2b)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The part b ruling in the second case book play listed above is incorrect ... The kid participated. By rule, he must be in the book. The scorer is required to track all players and substitutes who enter.
Required, but sometimes mistakes are made.

Timekeeper let's in substitute #25 which isn't noticed by the scorekeeper? This is more likely to happen if #25 never scores or is charged with a foul.

Scorekeeper notices #25 but decides to inform the officials at the next intermission, when all team members are bench personnel?

Scorekeeper notices but adds #25 unilaterally, without informing the officials until the next dead ball?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 06:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Required, but sometimes mistakes are made.

Timekeeper let's in substitute #25 which isn't noticed by the scorekeeper? This is more likely to happen if #25 never scores or is charged with a foul.

Scorekeeper notices #25 but decides to inform the officials at the next intermission, when all team members are bench personnel?

Scorekeeper notices but adds #25 unilaterally, without informing the officials until the next dead ball?
A. This is precisely why the scorer is to track each entering substitute. This is done by checking off the box for that qtr in the book on that player’s line. If the scorer doesn’t do this he isn’t doing his job. Doesn’t mean that the team hasn’t committed an infraction, just that the scorer failed to notice it because he isn’t doing what is required by rule.

B. The rule states exactly when the scorer is to notify the officials. Again a case of the scorer not doing his job properly. Could even be a scorer attempting to cheat for one team. The team still committed an infraction and this is an example of why the rules are written as they are.

C. You have a scorer who is either clueless or a cheater. Either way this doesn’t excuse the team’s infraction.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 07:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,498
House Of Cards ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is precisely why the scorer is to track each entering substitute. This is done by checking off the box for that qtr in the book on that player’s line. If the scorer doesn’t do this he isn’t doing his job. Doesn’t mean that the team hasn’t committed an infraction, just that the scorer failed to notice it because he isn’t doing what is required by rule.
The caseplay is based on a series of errors.

#25 wasn't listed on the roster that was submitted pregame (assuming that it wasn't a copying error).

Then the scorekeeper doesn't notice and/or doesn't inform the officials in a timely manner that #25 isn't "in the book".

The caseplay tells us how to handle the roster submission error (assuming that it wasn't a copying error) by one team and the error of the untimely notification to the officials by the scorekeeper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned onto the court. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of the third quarter. RULING: In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25 attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-1-2b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 23, 2019 at 08:06am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 12:58pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,498
Derelict Scorer ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The rule states exactly when the scorer is to notify the officials.
2-11-2 The scorer shall: Notify the nearer official when there is an infraction of the rules pertaining to submission of the roster, substitutions or numbers of players.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Number Valley Man Basketball 6 Tue Oct 04, 2016 09:09am
Right name wrong number! Kala Softball 19 Wed May 15, 2013 01:11pm
wrong number mccann Softball 1 Mon May 23, 2005 11:57pm
Wrong Number - NFHS whiskers_ump Softball 4 Tue Mar 01, 2005 10:19pm
Right Number, Wrong name Rookie Basketball 27 Thu Jan 24, 2002 08:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1