Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned onto the court. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of the third quarter. RULING: In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25 attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10-1-2b)
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The part b ruling in the second case book play listed above is incorrect ... The kid participated. By rule, he must be in the book. The scorer is required to track all players and substitutes who enter.
|
Required, but sometimes mistakes are made.
Timekeeper let's in substitute #25 which isn't noticed by the scorekeeper? This is more likely to happen if #25 never scores or is charged with a foul.
Scorekeeper notices #25 but decides to inform the officials at the next intermission, when all team members are bench personnel?
Scorekeeper notices but adds #25 unilaterally, without informing the officials until the next dead ball?