The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2005, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Saw this tonight and made me look in the book (NFHS), where
I found no rule for it, but found a citing in the case book. Most
associations cover it up front and in the rule book.(ASA4.1.1a.)
If a player is listed under one number but actually wearing another,
correct it and continue. I honestly would have done that anyway, but
I looked, because I knew I had never seen it covered in the rule book.

NFHS has no such written rule per say in the Rule Book , only the
Case Book. (Most of these guys never get the Case Book)
(I know, their bad)

Case book 3.1.3
Says that a player has technically violated the rule that requires
that player's name, shirt number, and position be on the lineup card,
but that there is no penalty since the BOOO rule requires only that the
name be in the proper order.

Second batter of the 4th inning (#11)doubles and drives in a runner. The
defensive coach calls times and appeals to the PU that the batter standing
on 2nd is BOO. Blue checks his lineup card and sees that number 3 is
listed as following number 2, the first batter of the inning. He
and his partner call the batter (runner now on 2nd) out. Allow the run,
and place number 6 (who follows number 3(11)) at bat. Hmmmm.
However, the team that took the out, won the game, 17-6.

[Edited by whiskers_ump on Feb 26th, 2005 at 09:19 PM]
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
If you have the wrong number but the right name, just correct and continue.
Remember, Fed rules are skewed to participation.

Don't make it too complicated.

__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by scottk_61
If you have the wrong number but the right name, just correct and continue.
Remember, Fed rules are skewed to participation.

Don't make it too complicated.

I agree Scott, and that is what I would have done.

I hate the rules where we penalize the player for a coach's error.
(i.e.) Illegal player in the game. The player did not just go into
the game. Coach sent her.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:
Originally posted by scottk_61
If you have the wrong number but the right name, just correct and continue.
Remember, Fed rules are skewed to participation.

Don't make it too complicated.

I agree Scott, and that is what I would have done.

I hate the rules where we penalize the player for a coach's error.
(i.e.) Illegal player in the game. The player did not just go into
the game. Coach sent her.
Thats one LL rule I like 3.08 :If no announcement of a sub is made, the sub shall be considered to have entered the game when (3)if a fielder, the sub reaches the position usually occupied by the fielder being replaced and play commences. Brian

[Edited by bethsdad on Feb 27th, 2005 at 11:39 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 01, 2005, 10:19pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally posted by scottk_61
If you have the wrong number but the right name, just correct and continue.
Remember, Fed rules are skewed to participation.

Don't make it too complicated.

Actually had this a few years back. Visting team player's number didn't agree with the lineup card, so we appealed. Our umpire basically said the same thing, just change the number and play on, and that was fine and dandy with us.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated: 406 Basketball 73 Softball 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1