![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Possession 9/10's Of The Law ...
Is this incorrect, correct would be to have a throwin do-over?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Learn Something New Every Day ...
A few minutes ago I would have thought it had everything to do with team control, or lack of team control. Now I know that that is not true regarding free throws, or throwins.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 17, 2019 at 11:04am. |
|
|||
|
I knew I shouldn't have put that in there. Bad move on my part and just added confusion. I did it because I was originally going to make this point and decided to be more pithy:
If the inadvertent whistle from the OP occurred a) before any player touched the throw-in, the POI is a throw-in for Team A. b) after a player touched the throw-in in bounds but before any player controlled the ball, the POI is the arrow c) after a player controlled the ball, the POI is a throw-in for the team in control. |
|
|||
|
Please Confirm ...
Quote:
4-36: Point Of Interruption ART. 1 Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10. ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at an out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. A jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved when the game is interrupted. ART. 3 When the ball remains live after a violation or foul (as in 4-19- 8) during a try for goal, the point of interruption is determined to be when the ball becomes dead following the violation or foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Inadvertent Whistle Interruption ...
Legally touched? After a violation (later reversed), a dead ball, and a whistle?
Isn't the inadvertent whistle for the ball hitting the ring the point of interruption, not something that happens after the inadvertent whistle (touch inbounds, player control, team control, etc.)? Point Of Interruption: Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle, ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at an out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. There was no team in control (team control during a throwin only applies when a member of the throwin team fouls) when the ball hit the ring, and the ball had not yet been touched, nor possessed (controlled), by another player when the ball hit the ring. Nobody had player control and/or team control and nobody had touched and/or possessed the ball (after throwin release) before the violation (later reversed), dead ball, and inadvertent whistle when the ball hit the ring. Since the ball was dead, wouldn't the only things that may have mattered after the violation (later reversed), dead ball, and inadvertent whistle when the ball hit the ring be intentional and/or flagrant fouls? Player control, team control, ball touched, etc., should be ignored because they all came after the ball became dead. If a player caught the ball after it hit the ring and made a layup would you count the basket?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 17, 2019 at 12:45pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The “inadvertent whistle” is the inadvertent whistle. The whistle makes the ball dead in this play. In Altor’s first example no one had touched the ball. Thus the throw in had not legally ended and the POI rule says team A gets another throw in. The second example has the ball hitting the underside of the rim, immediately deflecting off a player inbounds. Then the whistle. Again the “IW” is the IW. At that moment no team has control inbounds. I know what you are thinking...the reason you blew the whistle was because you thought ball hitting underside of rim was violation. So should you determine the situation from that moment in time? I would tell you no..because you haven’t “interrupted” the game yet under the rules. As to your question, if a player caught the ball and made a layup..would I count the basket? Absolutely...1. Because I know hitting underside of ring is nothing. 2. If for some reason I thought it was a problem but didn’t interrupt the game until after the layup...the rules require it....The End. |
|
|||
|
Wanted Dead Or Alive ...
I think that I see the problem. In my opinion the ball is already dead when the whistle is sounded, dead in error, but it's still dead.
Basketball Rules Fundamentals 16. The official’s whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead (it is already dead). 7-7 The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: ART. 5 An official’s whistle is blown ART. 9 A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs Are you saying that it was the whistle that caused the ball to became dead, not the violation because the violation was called in error? If so, that's an interesting take. I'd like to see some more discussion regarding such.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 17, 2019 at 01:13pm. |
|
|||
|
Keep in mind we are now talking about the timing of the whistle. Because of the odd and unexpected occurrence (throw-in hitting the rim), the whistle was not immediate. The official in the OP took a moment to process what he saw and then made a bad decision to stop play. The POI is determined by the status of the ball when the IW occurred, not when the ball hit the rim.
|
|
|||
|
Whistle While You Work ...
I get it. Not sure I agree, but I get the logic and the rule language behind it.
Because it's not a real violation, the "violation" doesn't cause the ball to became dead, it's the inadvertent whistle that causes the ball to become dead and the whistle may be slightly delayed (as it always is). I would like to see further discussion before I change my mind, especially the part about counting the basket (after the ring hit but also after the sound of the whistle). If everybody's going to count that basket, then I better think about backing up the truck and moving in another direction. Good discussion guys. I can certainly see your logic. Maybe Basketball Rules Fundamental 16 isn't as clear as I once believed.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 17, 2019 at 01:35pm. |
|
|||
|
The Moon Does Not Exist If Nobody Is Looking At It (Albert Einstein) …
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball hits rim on throw in | IAUMP | Basketball | 20 | Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:13pm |
| Baseline Throw In Hits Net... | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 28 | Thu Nov 27, 2008 06:59pm |
| Throw in (after a basket) hits official... | Rusty Gilbert | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 17, 2007 03:07pm |
| ball hits rim on throw in | timharris | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:18pm |
| Throw in hits backboard | Hoosier | Basketball | 13 | Sun Dec 16, 2001 04:15pm |