The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 654
Throw-in hits basket

Team A has a throw-in from under their basket. A1's throw-in hits the bottom of the basket ring and is deflected toward an area of the court where it remains untouched inbounds. The administering official stops play, points to the ring, and signals for a Team B throw-in at the original spot. Correct procedure?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:29am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,334
Correct procedure for a violation? Sure.

Correct ruling? Hmmmmmm
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
No. Just let the ball sit there...That would have been the thing to do...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
It's a violation for the throw-in to ENTER the basket, but not to HIT the basket.

How do I know? I kicked it my first year. The coach questioned it, but didn't really know either. I looked it up in the locker room after the game and apologized to the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:48am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's a violation for the throw-in to ENTER the basket, but not to HIT the basket.
9-2-7: Throwin: The thrown ball shall not enter the basket before it touches or
is touched by another player.

9-4: A player shall not travel with the ball, as in 4-44, intentionally kick it, as in
4-29, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket
from below.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Similar question, when you have a partner kick a call like this what are your options? I had a very similar play earlier this year where an inbounds pass hits under the backboard and carried into the court. Partner blows dead, calls it out of bounds and gives it to the other team. No one in the gym seemed to know or care. I knew that was not the right call. So what are my options? And what should I do?

I can tell you what I did; I did nothing for fear of showing up my partner. This happened in the first quarter so I even forgot to discuss in the locker room post game even though I made a mental note to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 02:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
Can Go A Few Ways ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
... when you have a partner kick a call like this what are your options? I had a very similar play earlier this year where an inbounds pass hits under the backboard and carried into the court. Partner blows dead, calls it out of bounds and gives it to the other team.
You can always just ignore it and possibly discuss at halftime, or after the game, or ...

Immediate private on court conversation.

You: "What did you see on that?"
Partner: "Ball hit the back of the backboard. Out of bounds violation".
You: "Good call".
Play on.

You: ""What did you see on that?"
Partner: "Ball hit the bottom of the backboard. Out of bounds violation".
You: "Are you sure about that interpretation?"
Partner: "Yes"
Play on.
Possible discussion at halftime, or after the game.

You: ""What did you see on that?"
Partner: "Ball hit the bottom of the backboard. Out of bounds violation".
You: "Are you sure about that interpretation?"
Partner: "Not really"
You: "Only the back and supports are out of bounds, front, sides, top, and bottom are inbounds."
Partner: "Thanks. Inadvertent whistle. New throwin".
Play on.

You: ""What did you see on that?"
Partner: "Ball hit the bottom of the backboard. Out of bounds violation".
You: "Are you sure about that interpretation?"
Partner: "Yes. Screw you. Don't mess with my calls."
Play on.
File partner's name in memory to not offer help unless it's game breaker.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 17, 2019 at 11:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
It's a rules issue. I'm at least getting together to see what my partner has. depending on the partner and level, "getting together" might be as simple as a questioning look, or it might be going right up to him/her. And, it might just be asking, and it might be "strongly suggesting" that we change it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 654
Thanks all. I agree with your assessment of the OP which happened in an 8th grade game I was watching last night from the stands.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
You: ""What did you see on that?"
Partner: "Ball hit the bottom of the backboard. Out of bounds violation".
You: "Are you sure about that interpretation?"
Partner: "Not really"
You: "Only the back and supports are out of bounds, front, sides, top, and bottom are inbounds."
Partner: "Thanks. Inadvertent whistle. Alternating possession arrow."
Play on.
Billy brings me to my next question. Is the part in bold the correct procedure?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Thanks all. I agree with your assessment of the OP which happened in an 8th grade game I was watching last night from the stands.



Billy brings me to my next question. Is the part in bold the correct procedure?
If no one had legally touched the ball, the throwin has not ended. The POI would be another throwin for same team. Not the arrow in play you describe.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If no one had legally touched the ball, the throwin has not ended. The POI would be another throwin for same team. Not the arrow in play you describe.
And if the ball bounded directly into somebody's hands rather than not being touched, the POI would be a throw-in for the team with possession at the time of the IW.

Good job everybody. Gold stars all around.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 06:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
A Do-Over ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If no one had legally touched the ball, the throwin has not ended. The POI would be another throwin for same team.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
And if the ball bounded directly into somebody's hands rather than not being touched, the POI would be a throw-in for the team with possession at the time of the IW.
So the violation (soon to be reversed), the dead ball, and the whistle don't matter?

It's like do-over?

Is it truly an inadvertent whistle or a whistle later determined to be a mistake and then rectified?

Is the point of interruption the violation, dead ball, and whistle; or the error correction?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jan 16, 2019 at 06:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 700
Seems to me you are making this way too complicated.

What stopped play? Can't be a violation as there wasn't one. So it has to be the whistle.

The whistle was a mistake--hence inadvertent.

What was the status when it blew? That's the POI: a not completed throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Seems to me you are making this way too complicated.

What stopped play? Can't be a violation as there wasn't one. So it has to be the whistle.

The whistle was a mistake--hence inadvertent.

What was the status when it blew? That's the POI: a not completed throw in.
Exactly!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2019, 11:22pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So the violation (soon to be reversed), the dead ball, and the whistle don't matter?

It's like do-over?

Is it truly an inadvertent whistle or a whistle later determined to be a mistake and then rectified?

Is the point of interruption the violation, dead ball, and whistle; or the error correction?
Quit confusing people. If the officials get together and determine the whistle should never have been blown, it becomes an inadvertent whistle. When the did the inadvertent whistle occur? During a throw-in that had not ended. POI is the throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits rim on throw in IAUMP Basketball 20 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:13pm
Baseline Throw In Hits Net... Coltdoggs Basketball 28 Thu Nov 27, 2008 06:59pm
Throw in (after a basket) hits official... Rusty Gilbert Basketball 15 Sat Feb 17, 2007 03:07pm
ball hits rim on throw in timharris Basketball 2 Sun Mar 16, 2003 09:18pm
Throw in hits backboard Hoosier Basketball 13 Sun Dec 16, 2001 04:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1