![]() |
|
|||
Conflicting throw-in rules?
As noted, 9-2-11 says no teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins. Penalty is ball awarded OOB at the original throw-in spot.
BUT.... it is a legal throw-in when a pass is caught by a teammate OOB. It is an OOB violation (and not a throw-in violation) and the new throw-in will be at the OOB spot where the pass was caught, not the original throw-in spot. So... If a teammate catches the ball while OOB, it seems he has violated the provision that says no teammate shall be OOB after a spot throw-in starts. How do we reconcile these seemingly conflicting rules? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm |
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation | habram | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm |
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation | Shades of Gray | Basketball | 15 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation | hardwdref | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm |