![]() |
|
|
|||
Violation???
While administrating a spot throw-in. I gave the ball to A1 who put the ball on the ground, out of bounds and ran in-bounds. A2 came out of bounds, picked up the ball and threw it in to A3. This was done in under 5 seconds. Is this a violation?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yes. MTD Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
No. MTD Sr. P.S. When I read So Cal Lurker's question I knew that he asked if the situation that he posted was "legal" but my brain read his question in the same connotation as the Scooby's question: "Is this a violation?" For which the correct answer is: No. But the correct answer to So Cal Lurker's situation as he asked it ("Is this legal?") is: Yes. Since I retired from college officiating after the 2007-08 season I do not study the NCAA Men's and Women's Rules in detail every year as I did when I still officiated at that level. Therefore, I have a question for NevadaRef: Which of the two situations above in the thread does the A.R. apply and does it apply to both NCAA Men's and Women's? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Tue Dec 18, 2018 at 08:37am. Reason: Added P.S. |
|
|||
Quote:
The NCAA has an AR that putting the ball on the floor is not a pass and therefore this action is not allowed, which is nuts, butNFHS has no such ruling. |
|
|||
I agree with Nevada -- the OP is a violation; the revision (after a score) is not.
|
|
|||
So what is the rule being violated, in NFHS? I do not know which it is?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Dec 18, 2018 at 09:41am. |
|
|||
Although I may be splitting an extremely fine hair, the answer to the second scenario may not be so clear.
Under 7-5-7, a thrower-in "may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary." Does "outside the boundary" modify "teammate" or "pass the ball along the end line"? If the former, at the moment A1 set the ball down (assuming this is a "pass"), A2, who was in-bounds, was not "a teammate outside the boundary." If not, then 7-5-7 does not save Team A from a violation. If the latter, then 7-5-7 would apply. Unless there is a 15 year-old case, no longer in the book, that says.... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm |
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation | habram | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm |
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation | Shades of Gray | Basketball | 15 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation | hardwdref | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm |