![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 04:51pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
The definition of ball location says the ball is in the backcourt only when it touches the backcourt or a player who is touching the backcourt. If the dribbler doesn't touch the ball while on the line, does the ball ever return to the backcourt? By the above rule, it doesn't seem so. You might be tempted to say yes based on the OOB rule... Quote:
I know I've always called this a violation, but it seems the rules do not consider the ball to have returned to the backcourt just because the dribbler steps on the line unless the dribbler is touching the ball while doing so. Similarly, for a dribble that touches the line, it seems, unless I'm missing something, that touching the line is nothing. It would be come a backcourt violation as soon as the dribbler touches it again, however. What am I missing?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 05:06pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? | breynolds | Football | 9 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm |
muffed backwards pass into the end zone | kentref | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm |
Inbounds pass | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 8 | Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm |
muffed pass, then dribble | devdog69 | Basketball | 22 | Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm |
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass | DH Anderson | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm |