The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 01:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
*This email I recv'd from the State may clarify:

"The National Federation Office asked that we forward this message.

Much discussion is taking place in the various social media and other places about the follow situation.

Here is the play:

- Team A has Team Control in their frontcourt.

- Team B deflects a pass into the air and over the backcourt.

- A3 catches the ball in his/her backcourt, before the ball make contact with the floor in the backcourt.

RULING:

This is a backcourt violation, since Team A had Team Control in their frontcourt and A3 was the first to touch a ball that still had frontcourt status while A3 was in the backcourt. The deflection of the ball by B does not change the status of the ball. This causes A to be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch in the backcourt. The ball continued to have backcourt status. Similar to A3 catching the ball while standing out-of-bounds."



"Allow me to remind you of a few things:

- We should all remain consistent in the mechanics of reporting fouls:

o Make your way to the reporting area in front of the scorer’s table. Don’t get in the habit of shouting from across the court or from a long distance."
1. This play isn't relevant to this discussion because the OP involves a throw in.

2. Even on the court, until they actually change the rule to match this distorted interpretation, I'm not going to see that play that well.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
[

Last edited by Kansas Ref; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 03:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
1. This play isn't relevant to this discussion because the OP involves a throw in.

2. Even on the court, until they actually change the rule to match this distorted interpretation, I'm not going to see that play that well.
* 1. The guidance from Kansas management that I posted is entirely relevant to permalink post # 6 made by Hawkeye.

*2. If you are the ref in the proximity of such an event/incident as the one we are discussing, then you may have to work to get a better look at the action.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
From the Mens NCAA 2016-17 Casebook

I know you requested a NFHS ruling but here is the Men's NCAA ruling, scenario #3 was similar to the OP's play:

A.R. 215

The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts
to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his frontcourt near the
division line.

3. A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2, who fumbles it into the
backcourt. A2 then goes into the backcourt and recovers the fumble.

RULING 3: Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor
team control
had been established in the frontcourt.
(Rule 9-12.4, and 9-12.1 through .3, .5 through .7 and .9 through
.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
* 1. The guidance from Kansas management that I posted is entirely relevant to permalink post # 6 made by Hawkeye.

*2. If you are the ref in the proximity of such an event/incident as the one we are discussing, then you may have to work to get a better look at the action.
1. There are significant differences. I'd missed that play, but the primary difference is that A2 caught the ball with FC status and carried it into the BC. That's a violation. Had he waited until he landed before catching it, then we have that insipid play.

2. I'm not calling it until they change the rules, period. The logical ramifications of that ruling are absurd, and the rule references are just flat wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? breynolds Football 9 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm
muffed backwards pass into the end zone kentref Football 10 Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm
Inbounds pass Cyber-Ref Basketball 8 Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm
muffed pass, then dribble devdog69 Basketball 22 Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1