![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If we had a made basket and team A had the ball for an end line throw in, then double foul, would we report and then give A end line throw in where they can run or would we make it a spot throw in? As we have said, after a double foul you return to what you were doing before….I'm not sure on what basis they say the next throw in is not AP. I'm getting another headache…. |
|
|||
|
I suppose if you have guidance from your state association on this exact scenario, then follow what they say. Those of us who are not in a state that has clarified are stuck trying to justify after the fact if our assignors question the decision. Fortunately, there's a good bit of support for the decision to return to the AP throw in.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
We've already seen evidence of it in this very thread (WIAA apparently). |
|
|||
|
While that's a good guideline (and maybe it's what the rule *should say*), it isn't exactly what the rule says. It awards the ball to the team in control; it doesn't "return to the throw-in that was in process."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I went through all the stuff about the poi rule not saying return to same throw in. I decided it just doesnt make sense not to return to same throw in. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. The rule equates "during this activity" and "entitled to such". If we have a made basket followed by a dead ball double technical, the ensuing throw-in is anywhere along the end line, correct? If we have a made basket, ball at disposal, double foul/technical, the ensuing throw-in is anywhere along the end line, correct? If we have a held ball, followed immediately by a double technical, one team would be still be "entitled" to an AP throw-in, correct? So, AP throw-in in progress, double foul/technical, now all of a sudden we're changing the logic? The rule does not differentiate a double foul that occurs during a throw-in from a double foul that occurs before a throw-in. The case play reads: 4.19.8 SITUATION F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched, A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other. RULING: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A's throw-in had not ended, the point of interruption would be a throw-in by Team A. (4-36-2b; 10 Penalty 1c) So I'm returning to the throw-in that the team was entitled to AT THE POINT OF INTERRUPTION, whether it be running the end line or an AP throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Oct 27, 2016 at 03:25pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball for throw in after double foul | pop_ey | Basketball | 17 | Thu Sep 26, 2013 04:22pm |
| Double Foul During AP Throw-In | bob jenkins | Basketball | 176 | Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:22pm |
| Throw-in, Double Foul | tjones1 | Basketball | 48 | Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm |
| Double Foul During Free Throw | cropduster | Basketball | 63 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am |
| Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |