![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Another thought...
I believe the arrow would stay where it's at after the throw-in for the foul is complete...here's why:
1. 6-4-5 states that "If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow." 2. If there was merely a foul by the defense, you wouldn't change the arrow after the ensuing throw-in, right? Team A had control for a throw-in (albeit an AP throw in), there was a double foul, which, by rule, does not cause the throw-in team to lose the arrow, and the POI is a throw in by team A, since they had control at the time of the double foul. Bob--we should've spent some time on this one at Rock Valley!!! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the case of a double foul, the AP throw-in has not ended, and we go to the point of interruption, which is the AP throw-in by the offense.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Case book
4.19.8 Situation F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other. Ruling: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since team A's throw-in had not ended, the POI would be a throw in by team A. The POI is the previous throw in, just so happens in the our play, it was an AP throw in which hadn't ended. The arrow should change to team B when the throw in has ended. Why would we penalize team B and take the arrow away? Last edited by OKREF; Tue Oct 25, 2016 at 02:29pm. |
|
|||
|
I don't see it as us penalizing Team B... they committed a foul.
That said, I do believe this was in Referee Magazine last winter...and I believe the interpretation I've shared was what was mentioned (but I no longer have the issue in hand). I will certainly bring this up in my association meeting tomorrow night. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Ref Magazine is notorious for wrong rulings.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Oct 25, 2016 at 03:06pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Double fouls, though atypical, are not exceedingly rare. I could certainly see this situation happening. I would not want to avoid using the double foul tool from my tool belt just because I was uncertain of the subsequent penalty application. Straight POI seems like the more logical outcome here, but this is my opinion and I look forward to any official interpretations that come out of this. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
|
DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT TO AVOID HEADACHE
Now we see a case play that they could have easily said the POI is another AP throw in. I am just thinking out loud now..something i shouldnt do.. The ways we put a ball back in play after a double foul: 1. If a team was in control we award a throw in to that team nearest to spot of where ball located. 2. If there is no control and the ball live--shot, we go to the arrow to put it in play. 3. If the ball is dead when the double fouls happen or alive such as during a shot that goes in, we will award a throw in based on what would happen next. Either and end line throw in if time remains on the clock, as BNR noted, or as in Nevada's play, the next thing was an AP throw in. 4.$$ If the double foul occurred during a throw in then the POI , 4-36-2b, is another throw in. It doesnt say the same type of throw in. So, im not a fan of it, but it could very well be that if the double foul occurred during a throw in, no matter what the kind, the next throw in is just a throw in because of the double fouls. That is the only way i can reconcile Bob's play and now the case play and the foul doesnt change the arrow rule. And...as i have said before i dont agree with that because it doesnt recognize the effect of a double foul. Bob's play could be wrong, the case play could have just omitted the AP language, it may be "understood" in 4-36-2b that we go back to the same type of throw in...and rule 6 may and should only apply to single foul situations. I would go back to the AP throw in. The end for me. (Thinking out loud is never good...) Ive given myself a headache. |
|
|||
|
Casebook Play 6.4.5 Situation A
Gang,
There IS a casebook play that supports my interpretation. (my state association referred me to this) 6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Thu Oct 27, 2016 at 10:25am. |
|
|||
|
It depends on whether the writers meant "either" in the inclusive sense or the exclusive sense. I think it would be dangerous to assume either (ha!) way.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
This...
This was also included in the reply I rec'd from the state:
Play: A1 and B2 are called for a held ball near the sideline in team A’s frontcourt, and the possession arrow is in team A’s favor. While A1 has the ball at his or her disposal for the throw-in, A4 and B5 are called for a double foul in the lane area. How and where is play resumed, and is the possession arrow switched? Ruling: When a double foul is committed, play is resumed at the point of interruption with a throw-in to the team that was in team control at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Team A was in team control during the throw-in when the double foul occurred, so play shall resume with a throw-in to team A at the spot of the original throw-in. This throw-in is not another alternating-possession throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow will remain with team A following the throw-in because the alternating-possession arrow is not reversed when either or both teams commit a foul before the alternating-possession throw-in ends (NFHS 4-36-2a, 6-4-5, 10-6 Pen. 1c; NCAA 4-28.1.d, 6-3.8, 10-1 Pen. e). |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball for throw in after double foul | pop_ey | Basketball | 17 | Thu Sep 26, 2013 04:22pm |
| Double Foul During AP Throw-In | bob jenkins | Basketball | 176 | Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:22pm |
| Throw-in, Double Foul | tjones1 | Basketball | 48 | Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm |
| Double Foul During Free Throw | cropduster | Basketball | 63 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am |
| Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |