Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan
The rule is still the same: the clock is supposed to start on a legal touch. NF 5-10-1 permits correction of an obvious mistake by the timer. Well, the timer made a mistake because the official made a mistake. The officials (should) know how much time was on the clock at the time of the throw-in so just put it back to 0:04.6.
|
Exactly. Now, relating this to the "bonus or double bonus" thread, we have two different plays, I understand. But the characteristics of both are similar in that we have an official giving erroneous information (to the players re: # of free throws and to the timer to start the clock). Both situations do not fall in the category of correctable errors. Both times the official quickly rule the play dead to correct the issue. Each of the appropriate case book plays (8.6.1 and 4.42.5) do not address the issue of whether to put time back if the clock had started. Yet in the kicked-ball play I think we all would agree the ball became dead immediately when the ball was kicked and the clock would be reset. But in the free throw issue we have close to 100 posts and we still can't determine for sure if the clock should be reset or not. IMO, looking at both plays the first thing to deal with is "when did the ball become dead?"
In the kick play we got it right and the clock shouldn't have started because the throw in was not legally touched so the clock was reset. In the FT play, we know the official's mistake caused one or both teams not to attempt to rebound the ball so the ball becomes dead when the try is made or when apparent it is missed. In which case, the clock never should have started as well. The whistle in both cases stopped any play from continuing but did not cause the ball to become dead, it already was dead. That seems to be supported quite well by Rule Fundmental #16.