View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 08:56am
frezer11 frezer11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
The rule is still the same: the clock is supposed to start on a legal touch. NF 5-10-1 permits correction of an obvious mistake by the timer. Well, the timer made a mistake because the official made a mistake. The officials (should) know how much time was on the clock at the time of the throw-in so just put it back to 0:04.6.
With that much time, it would matter, but would you bother doing this with 4:34 left in 2nd quarter? It's the same ruling, and should be handled the same, but is it worth the time it takes to correct the error? (especially at a lower level game where you may have clock operators that do not know how)
Reply With Quote