Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2
Same play. Official erroneously chops. Timer starts clock. Official immediately whistles the play dead. Ruling?
|
The rule is still the same: the clock is supposed to start on a legal touch. NF 5-10-1 permits correction of an obvious mistake by the timer. Well, the timer made a mistake because the official made a mistake. The officials (should) know how much time was on the clock at the time of the throw-in so just put it back to 0:04.6.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|