The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
... so the ball becomes dead when the try is made or when apparent it is missed. In which case, the clock never should have started as well. The whistle in both cases stopped any play from continuing but did not cause the ball to become dead, it already was dead. That seems to be supported quite well by Rule Fundmental #16.
This part is all false and that is why you reach the wrong conclusion.
No rule makes the ball dead in the FT situation. There is no violation or foul. The ball isn't dead until the official sounds the whistle. Everything before then is timed.
For the illegal touch on the throw-in, we have a violation that makes the ball dead and a rule stating that the clock does not start. We also have an NFHS clarification from a few years ago instructing the officials that no time comes off on this infraction.
Two totally different plays which you cannot equate.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 15, 2016, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This part is all false and that is why you reach the wrong conclusion.
No rule makes the ball dead in the FT situation. There is no violation or foul. The ball isn't dead until the official sounds the whistle. Everything before then is timed.
For the illegal touch on the throw-in, we have a violation that makes the ball dead and a rule stating that the clock does not start. We also have an NFHS clarification from a few years ago instructing the officials that no time comes off on this infraction.
Two totally different plays which you cannot equate.
Ah, okay. I am interpreting the play by the incorrect conditions that the official created by saying 2 shots. Thanks. On the other hand, and I appreciate your patience, you are saying the ball remains live on the missed free throw and is rebounded or ends up in the hands of a player B: meaning the ball has been touched, the clock starts, and...player and team control has been established, correct? Play is then immediately ruled dead. The casebook says since the error put one team at a disadvantage the solution is to resume by the AP. Therefore, it appears the legal touching and possession of the live ball by Team B has been nullified by the casebook ruling. If this is true, wouldn't it stand to reason that the clock should be reset? I would like to be convinced one way or the other. Right now I am not sure but I am still leaning toward resetting the clock. Appreciate all opinions.

Last edited by billyu2; Fri Jan 15, 2016 at 09:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2016, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
If the Case Book said to reset the clock in this specific situation then you could. However, it doesn't. Compare this with the Case Book play titled "A specific unsporting act" 10.1.8, which directly states to put consumed time back on the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2016, 11:09am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,508
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the Case Book said to reset the clock in this specific situation then you could. However, it doesn't. Compare this with the Case Book play titled "A specific unsporting act" 10.1.8, which directly states to put consumed time back on the clock.
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1
inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation
if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next
throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess
a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the
field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul
against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire
procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be
charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous
delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in
which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team
to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK vs Louisville--Shot Clock Violation in Final Minute-Reset Clock? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 27 Tue Dec 29, 2015 04:17pm
Kicking bas2456 Basketball 5 Sun Feb 08, 2009 01:41pm
Kicking? fonzzy07 Basketball 5 Tue Mar 28, 2006 02:48am
Kicking or NOT?? Nate1224hoops Basketball 9 Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:25am
Kicking bwbuddy Basketball 4 Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1