![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"They don't play the game because we show up to officiate it" |
|
|||
Okay, to be more clear, why do people think you can pivot on a non-pivot foot?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
It sounds like you need to separate the term "pivot foot" and the act of "pivoting" in your own mind. They aren't necessarily related. |
|
|||
I've seen many officials think it is a pivot to lift a foot and swing it around before it touches. As a result, I hear calls for travels and see a few officials call travels when it is not (yet). It isn't a pivot until the lifted foot touches again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I'm assuming you mean, "until the lifted pivot foot touches again." If I assume correctly, can you give me a rule citation?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sorry, I don't have the books here to give an exact cite. Aldo, when the rule says "traveling is moving the pivot foot" "move" means step or slide -- id doesn't mean "wave around in the air." |
|
|||
Some are making it more complicated than it needs to be. Actually, it's not complicated.
1. Find the pivot foot, keeping in mind there is only one pivot foot There's no such thing as the "first" and "second" pivot foot (at least not in high school). 2. If the pivot foot is lifted, the player is allowed to shoot or pass the ball. They can not start a dribble or return the pivot foot to the floor (if so, a travel violation has occurred). That's it. The way I read the OP tells me there was no traveling violation. I don't care what the coach says, I only care what the rule book says. |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 4, Section 33: Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
see 4.44.3.a & 4.44.3.b
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Sun Jan 10, 2016 at 08:02pm. |
|
|||
because you can. the rule doesn't prohibit this, the rule prohibits the original pivot foot from being returned to the floor before the ball is passed or shot.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
If you simply mean to turn or twist on the non-pivot foot, then that is different and not illegal as long as the pivot foot doesn't return to the floor. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
spin move to second | MRD | Baseball | 15 | Fri Jul 10, 2015 02:41pm |
Spin Move..Continuation? | The_Rookie | Basketball | 17 | Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:17pm |
The Spin Move | Bad Zebra | Basketball | 40 | Wed Jan 27, 2010 01:41am |
Spin move | just another ref | Basketball | 9 | Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:20am |
Spin move or travel? | BktBallRef | Basketball | 17 | Mon Jan 15, 2001 09:42pm |