The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeps View Post
... the defender closes his legs to stop the ball from going through ...
Yes. A kick is defined as intentionally striking the ball with your leg.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Yes. A kick is defined as intentionally striking the ball with your leg.
Even if the defender closes his legs before the pass is made?

Mind you the offensive player threw the ball at the defenders legs, the defenders feet never moved
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeps View Post
Even if the defender closes his legs before the pass is made?
I suppose I'd have to see it, but if the legs are already closed like this before the pass is even made, that's a no-call for me. It is, however, up to the official's judgment whether the ball's contact with the leg was the result of an intentional act.

The second part you keep mentioning about "the feet never moved" is entirely irrelevant. A kick needn't be done with your feet. It is intentionally striking the ball with any part of your leg.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 23
This is a men's pick up league so no refs (call your own fouls ) so as you can imagine this leads to plenty of arguments.

In this case I'm the defender and as the offensive brought his arm back to make the pass I closed my legs before his release. To me this is not a kick as I was standing there and he threw the pass (being a one handed pass he could t stop the pass once his arm started moving forward)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
As described here I have a kick ball violation.

You tried to stop the pass and in doing so intentionally struck the ball with your legs. Seems fairly simple to me and you are not going to get the benefit of the doubt when you "close your legs to stop the ball."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peeps View Post
In this case I'm the defender and as the offensive brought his arm back to make the pass I closed my legs before his release.
As Smitty said, why did you bring your legs together? It appears you did it because you figured out that's where the ball was going to be passed which means you (wait for it) intended to do it.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
I'm willing to be the contrarian here.

Quote:
Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the leg or foot.
If the defender closed his legs and then the ball handler throw the ball against his legs, there is no kicking violation.

Further, I think it's a stretch to convert closing legs to intentionally striking the ball. So, without the defender moving his legs towards the ball, I don't see how you could describe that as striking the ball as opposed to the ball striking the player, which is not a kicking violation.

So, as described in the OP (legs closed then pass) you cannot possibly have a kicking violation. If, as is more likely, the order was actually the reverse of that, you probably didn't have a violation as the ball likely struck the leg rather than the leg striking the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
I'm willing to be the contrarian here.



If the defender closed his legs and then the ball handler throw the ball against his legs, there is no kicking violation.

Further, I think it's a stretch to convert closing legs to intentionally striking the ball. So, without the defender moving his legs towards the ball, I don't see how you could describe that as striking the ball as opposed to the ball striking the player, which is not a kicking violation.

So, as described in the OP (legs closed then pass) you cannot possibly have a kicking violation. If, as is more likely, the order was actually the reverse of that, you probably didn't have a violation as the ball likely struck the leg rather than the leg striking the ball.
In the same situation, if the defender jumped with their legs spread and the pass hit the front of the thigh of the defender, would you also have no violation?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
As Smitty said, why did you bring your legs together? It appears you did it because you figured out that's where the ball was going to be passed which means you (wait for it) intended to do it.

i was crouched over leaning forward. when i saw him bring his arm back to pass, my first instinct was to close the 5 hole. i stood up and closed my legs. it wasnt like he did this all in one motion in .001 seconds.

he brought the ball back one handed (in my mind to make a bounce pass) he wasnt going around me and i heard someone cut behind me so my instinct was to close my legs. just as i closed my legs he still tried to pass the ball. which hit my shin/kneecap

again, this is a mens pickup league, we arent playing life and death or winner advances to the state tourney but there are always arguments as to what is a kick or what is a travel on an airball etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
defensive foul, kick


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is batter still considered in the box chuck chopper Softball 5 Mon Jun 09, 2014 08:26am
Is this considered a travel? Ray_from_Mi Basketball 4 Sat Dec 16, 2006 09:04pm
When is it considered a Legal Catch?? jshock Baseball 14 Thu Sep 28, 2006 05:27pm
What would be considered a dead ball? PJUMP Baseball 5 Fri Mar 17, 2006 07:17pm
Is it considered a dribble if ... ? bossref Basketball 1 Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1