The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 26, 2004, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 127
If a player is standing, holding the ball
with two hands, can he legally bring the ball to touch
the floor, even though the ball has not left his hands.
Is this a no-call, or a double dribble?

Please quote the rule and case play so I can
settle an argument.

Thank you very much.
__________________
Barry "the ref" Alman
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2004, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,756
It is NOT a dribble. 4-15 Note 3. "It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once."

The play is legal and nothing should be called.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jul 27th, 2004 at 01:10 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1