The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
There is actually a third scenario that ends the throw in, and it directly relates to this. If instead of tying the ball up, the team B player simply pulls the ball away from the offense, then he has gained possession and the throw in has subsequent ended. The ball was not thrown in bounds, nor did the offense violate.

A related question, can the thrower in reach the ball across the in bound plane, and hand the ball off to a teammate just over the line? My immediate thought is no, and I think I could probably support that with the rules, but why is a defender allowed to grab the ball in that same scenario legally and play on? Shouldn't the same rules apply to both teams here?
Do you have rules or caseplay that support the part in red?

Where in the rules is the bold supported? We only have support for a held ball, there is none for a "steal".
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
do you have rules or caseplay that support the part in red?

Where in the rules is the bold supported? We only have support for a held ball, there is none for a "steal".
7.6.4 situation a
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 09:55am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Do you have rules or caseplay that support the part in red?

Where in the rules is the bold supported? We only have support for a held ball, there is none for a "steal".
7.6.4:A
While attempting a throw in A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (a) slaps the ball from A1's hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

Ruling: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for B.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
7.6.4:A
While attempting a throw in A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (a) slaps the ball from A1's hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

Ruling: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for B.
I wanted freezer to find that, mostly because he would then look further and figure out the answer to his second question regarding teammates and handoffs.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I wanted freezer to find that, mostly because he would then look further and figure out the answer to his second question regarding teammates and handoffs.
I already knew the case play ruling, which is why I brought the original question up in the first place. But again I ask, is it legal to hand the ball off, such that both the player in bounds and the player out of bounds are both touching the ball at the same time? The case book ruling for a defender makes me say it's legal, but I want to see if anyone has a different ruling they can find that would disagree with that, as it's one of those things that doesn't seem to pass the eye test, so I want to have proper justification.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 10:48am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I already knew the case play ruling, which is why I brought the original question up in the first place. But again I ask, is it legal to hand the ball off, such that both the player in bounds and the player out of bounds are both touching the ball at the same time? The case book ruling for a defender makes me say it's legal, but I want to see if anyone has a different ruling they can find that would disagree with that, as it's one of those things that doesn't seem to pass the eye test, so I want to have proper justification.

7-6-2
The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within 5 seconds after the throw in begins.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
7-6-2
The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within 5 seconds after the throw in begins.
And this is EXACTLY why I wanted to bring this up for discussion, as there seems to be separate interpretations in the case book and rules book. The defender is allowed to essentially take a handoff from the thrower by taking it out of his hands (legal by case book play 7.6.4A), yet if the offensive player does the same, then the thrower seems to have violated by rule 7-6-2. So which ruling should apply for the offensive player?

Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.

Last edited by frezer11; Tue Dec 01, 2015 at 12:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
And this is EXACTLY why I wanted to bring this up for discussion, as there seems to be separate interpretations in the case book and rules book. The defender is allowed to essentially take a handoff from the thrower by taking it out of his hands (legal by case book play 7.6.4A), yet if the offensive player does the same, then the thrower seems to have violated by rule 7-6-2. So which ruling should apply for the offensive player?

Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.
Because they didn't violate. No where is it a violation for crossing the OOB plane while holding the ball. It becomes a violation when let's say coming from inbounds the ball or the player with possession makes contact with OOB.

The plane doesn't cause the violation. Therefore if the ball is within the playing area why would be call a violation when the defense makes a clean play on the ball? We would call the violation when teammates make simultaneous contact with the ball and one is OOB and one is inbounds.

Now the million dollar question for you. IF this is an AP throw in and a teammate makes contact with the ball what do you have?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post

Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.
Why would you stop play and award B a throw-in when they already have the ball? Seems moot at that point, which is probably the reasoning for the different treatment.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 01:42pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
And this is EXACTLY why I wanted to bring this up for discussion, as there seems to be separate interpretations in the case book and rules book. The defender is allowed to essentially take a handoff from the thrower by taking it out of his hands (legal by case book play 7.6.4A), yet if the offensive player does the same, then the thrower seems to have violated by rule 7-6-2. So which ruling should apply for the offensive player?

Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.
They aren't separate interpretations. It is two different situations and two different rules. One applies to the defense and one applies to the offense.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
7.6.4:A
While attempting a throw in A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (a) slaps the ball from A1's hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

Ruling: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for B.
Note however that if B makes contact with A in this situation, it's an intentional foul (by rule)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 11:41am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Note however that if B makes contact with A in this situation, it's an intentional foul (by rule)
Yes, unless the player throwing in the ball, makes,(or initiates) contact with the defender, like throwing his arms into the defender. I'm going to make sure that the defender makes contact with the offense.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Note however that if B makes contact with A in this situation, it's an intentional foul (by rule)
Yes....and a stupid one too.

It should only apply for contact that occurs through the plane, not when the thrower puts the ball/arms on the inbounds side of the plane where the defense IS permitted to play the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 03:41pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Yes....and a stupid one too.

It should only apply for contact that occurs through the plane, not when the thrower puts the ball/arms on the inbounds side of the plane where the defense IS permitted to play the ball.
I agree with this. If the offense puts it across the line it should be no foul.

Last edited by OKREF; Tue Dec 01, 2015 at 03:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I agree with this. If the offense puts it across the line it should be no foul.
Mainly agree. If the defender hits arms, not ball, then it should be a foul still, but not an intentional.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) JRutledge Basketball 21 Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm
Held Ball on the Throw-in jhc2010 Basketball 21 Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:13pm
Held Ball on the throw in???? splitveer Basketball 2 Wed Feb 09, 2011 03:19pm
Throw-in held ball question tadams Basketball 6 Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:05pm
Held Ball On Throw In pbrad59 Basketball 7 Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1