View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 09:41am
deecee deecee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
There is actually a third scenario that ends the throw in, and it directly relates to this. If instead of tying the ball up, the team B player simply pulls the ball away from the offense, then he has gained possession and the throw in has subsequent ended. The ball was not thrown in bounds, nor did the offense violate.

A related question, can the thrower in reach the ball across the in bound plane, and hand the ball off to a teammate just over the line? My immediate thought is no, and I think I could probably support that with the rules, but why is a defender allowed to grab the ball in that same scenario legally and play on? Shouldn't the same rules apply to both teams here?
Do you have rules or caseplay that support the part in red?

Where in the rules is the bold supported? We only have support for a held ball, there is none for a "steal".
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote