The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Double Foul on Alternating Poss'n Throw-in

Anyone wants to take a stab at this?

Double Foul on Throw-in

A1 has the ball at his/her disposal for an alternating-possession throw-in. Prior to A1 releasing the ball, A2 and B1 are called for a double foul. How is play resumed? How is the alternating-possession arrow affected?
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Point of Interruption. A will have the ball for a throw in.

That correct?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
What about the arrow?
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post
What about the arrow?
My understanding of the arrow is since we go bak to the point of interruption the arrow will change upon the whistle starting the 5 count for the alternating possession throw in after the double foul
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
My understanding of the arrow is since we go bak to the point of interruption the arrow will change upon the whistle starting the 5 count for the alternating possession throw in after the double foul
The POI is the AP throw-in.

The arrow changes just like on any other AP throw-in -- when the AP throw-in ends or when the inbounding team violates (and they might have changed the definition so that last part is redundant).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:46pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
A ball, arrow stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 01:48pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A ball, arrow stays the same
Team A will have a new AP throw-in. POI is the AP throw-in.

Don't use verbiage that will confuse a coach or the table.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The POI is the AP throw-in.

The arrow changes just like on any other AP throw-in -- when the AP throw-in ends or when the inbounding team violates (and they might have changed the definition so that last part is redundant).

I agree 100% with Bob....unfortunately it is not the answer given by (I won't say).....Here was the answer given (the part I don't agree with is in BOLD). I don't claim to know everything so can anyone provide support as to why this could be correct?:


Ruling
A double foul results in no free throws and play is resumed at the point of interruption; which in this case is the throw-in by team A. When a foul is committed during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not cause the alternating-possession to end and does not cause the team to lose the possession arrow. Therefore team A shall retain the alternating-possession arrow after the ensuing throw-in ends. 4-36-2b, 4-42-5, 6-4-4, 6-4-5
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post


I agree 100% with Bob....unfortunately it is not the answer given by (I won't say).....Here was the answer given (the part I don't agree with is in BOLD). I don't claim to know everything so can anyone provide support as to why this could be correct?:


Ruling
A double foul results in no free throws and play is resumed at the point of interruption; which in this case is the throw-in by team A. When a foul is committed during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not cause the alternating-possession to end and does not cause the team to lose the possession arrow. Therefore team A shall retain the alternating-possession arrow after the ensuing throw-in ends. 4-36-2b, 4-42-5, 6-4-4, 6-4-5
What rules set?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 03:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post


I agree 100% with Bob....unfortunately it is not the answer given by (I won't say).....Here was the answer given (the part I don't agree with is in BOLD). I don't claim to know everything so can anyone provide support as to why this could be correct?:


Ruling
A double foul results in no free throws and play is resumed at the point of interruption; which in this case is the throw-in by team A. When a foul is committed during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not cause the alternating-possession to end and does not cause the team to lose the possession arrow. Therefore team A shall retain the alternating-possession arrow after the ensuing throw-in ends. 4-36-2b, 4-42-5, 6-4-4, 6-4-5
It's not correct, so it is impossible to support.

In one sentence it tells you the AP throw-in has not ended; in the sentence proceeding we are told the double foul will cause us to resume at the POI. So the 3rd sentence makes no logical sense, in addition to being wrong.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,469
+1. Had there been a foul that did not result in POI resumption, then the AP procedure would indeed be postponed. But this is a double foul; the ruling's second sentence is missing that critical distinction.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 04:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,988
Fouls do not change any AP Arrow situation if I am not mistaken. I will have to look this up again to be sure.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Double foul results in play being resumed at POI.

POI = AP throw-in.

Upon completion of the AP throw-in, arrow will be switched.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,577
The ruling is indeed incorrect, but I can understand why someone would attempt to justify it. If one looks just at the actual text of the POI rule, there is nothing to justify giving an AP throw-in in the presented situation. I only know to do that because there is an old play ruling which says to do so.
The rule just says to award the team a throw-in.

The POI rule is a process for resuming the game after specific stoppages, it provides a throw-in to a specific team in parts a and b of the rule and an AP-throw-in in part c. People tend to think of the POI as picking up where the game left off, but while that is true in spirit, it is not strictly correct from a rules standpoint.

Part b of the POI rule needs an additional phrase clarifying that the throw-in or FT awarded to the team shall occur under the same circumstances as the one taking place or about to take place when the stoppage in play happened.

For example, if A1 and B1 dive on the floor for a loose ball and create a heldball situation with the arrow favoring Team A, but then get upset with each other and each earn technical fouls which constitute a double technical foul, we know to report the fouls and continue the game with the AP throw-in, but by part b of the POI rule one could think that Team A should simply get a normal throw-in because that team was entitled to a throw-in when the double tech occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 06:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The ruling is indeed incorrect, but I can understand why someone would attempt to justify it. If one looks just at the actual text of the POI rule, there is nothing to justify giving an AP throw-in in the presented situation. I only know to do that because there is an old play ruling which says to do so.
The rule just says to award the team a throw-in.

The POI rule is a process for resuming the game after specific stoppages, it provides a throw-in to a specific team in parts a and b of the rule and an AP-throw-in in part c. People tend to think of the POI as picking up where the game left off, but while that is true in spirit, it is not strictly correct from a rules standpoint.

Part b of the POI rule needs an additional phrase clarifying that the throw-in or FT awarded to the team shall occur under the same circumstances as the one taking place or about to take place when the stoppage in play happened.

For example, if A1 and B1 dive on the floor for a loose ball and create a heldball situation with the arrow favoring Team A, but then get upset with each other and each earn technical fouls which constitute a double technical foul, we know to report the fouls and continue the game with the AP throw-in, but by part b of the POI rule one could think that Team A should simply get a normal throw-in because that team was entitled to a throw-in when the double tech occurred.
That's only if you read 4-36.2b as narrowly as possible. It's still "a throw-in", but in this case, a specific type of throw-in. Also doesn't state whether or not it is a designated spot throw-in, but if a made basket was involved, we know it would be anywhere along the endline.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul During AP Throw-In bob jenkins Basketball 176 Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:22pm
Throw-in, Double Foul tjones1 Basketball 48 Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm
Double Foul...Alt Poss or POI bigdog5142 Basketball 7 Thu Nov 29, 2007 07:50am
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
rule interp: injured player & alternating poss. blewthat Basketball 6 Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1