![]() |
|
|||
|
Food for thought.
Quote:
Quote:
The definition of Continuous Motion speaks of fouled player being allowed to finish any and all legal footwork. The player in the situation described in the OP has been fouled in the Act of Shooting and by rule the successful FGA is not counted and the fouled player is awarded two FTs. When I think of the CM Rule I think of two plays: 1) A1 is fouled by B1 on his shooting arm and the foul does not impede his foot work and none-the-less he still travels before releasing the ball on his FGA. 2) B1's foul on A1 is of such that it causes A1 to travel before A1 can release the ball on his FGA. By rule, in both (1) and (2) the FGA does not count and we award two FTs. But the foul in (2) and always bothered me because A1 traveled not of his own volition as in (1) but because of B1's foul and CM does not allow for any distinction between the two. Just some food for thought. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Continuous Motion | Toren | Basketball | 12 | Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:55am |
| Continuous Motion? | Reffing Rev. | Basketball | 26 | Fri Dec 18, 2009 08:10am |
| Continuous Motion or Not | Sven | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 04, 2005 11:48am |
| Continuous Motion | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 20 | Sun Dec 28, 2003 03:01pm |
| continuous motion | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 1 | Thu Nov 01, 2001 09:48pm |