![]() |
Continuous Motion/Traveling
A1 begins his continuous motion on a drive to the basket and is fouled. Before releasing the ball, A1 commits a traveling violation. The ball enters the goal.
Would the traveling violation cause continuous motion principles to cease, thus meaning A1 is not awarded any free throws (unless Team A is in the bonus)? Or would A1 be given two shots? |
Break your play down into each individual occurrence....
Foul in act first....then travel....still must reward the foul and the penalty for the foul is..... |
I do not think you can count the basket if it goes in after the travel, but I would reward the shots if they were shooting for sure.
Peace |
Does the traveling violation fall under the parameter of “the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball”?
In other words, does the traveling cancel any benefit of continuous motion that the shooter would receive, i.e. free throws? |
Food for thought.
Quote:
Quote:
The definition of Continuous Motion speaks of fouled player being allowed to finish any and all legal footwork. The player in the situation described in the OP has been fouled in the Act of Shooting and by rule the successful FGA is not counted and the fouled player is awarded two FTs. When I think of the CM Rule I think of two plays: 1) A1 is fouled by B1 on his shooting arm and the foul does not impede his foot work and none-the-less he still travels before releasing the ball on his FGA. 2) B1's foul on A1 is of such that it causes A1 to travel before A1 can release the ball on his FGA. By rule, in both (1) and (2) the FGA does not count and we award two FTs. But the foul in (2) and always bothered me because A1 traveled not of his own volition as in (1) but because of B1's foul and CM does not allow for any distinction between the two. Just some food for thought. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The travelling DOES negate the continuous motion -- any basket cannot count; there cannot be an "and-1" on the play. The travelling DOES NOT negate the fact that the foul occurred during a shooting motion. Award two FTs. |
Quote:
i will error on the side of giving 2 shots but there's an argument that the player who does not release the ball within proper foot movements is NOT in the act.... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you deem, at the time of the foul, the player was in the act of shooting, it doesn't really matter what happens next. The player was still fouled in the act of shooting and the foul will be charged and penalized accordingly. Not being able to successfully (legally) complete the try doesn't change the fact that the player was in the act of shooting when fouled. Continuous motion only delays the dead ball in such cases until the try ends (shot missed), the ball otherwise becomes dead (travel), etc. A travel causes the ball to become dead immediately. If the ball becomes dead before it goes in the basket, it can't be counted. But, again, the player was in the act of shooting when the foul occurred, so they player will be awarded 2 shots. |
Quote:
in this case there is contact. is the player shooting at that moment? he isnt releasing the ball so we have to continue watching. he takes two more steps and then throws it up. clearly beyond legal foot movements. that tells me he wasnt shooting at time of foul. |
Quote:
And, FED has a case where a foul while shooting followed by a pass is still a foul while shooting. Sometimes we need to officiate. |
Always Listen To bob ...
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm. |