![]() |
|
|
|||
They called the runner out for OFFENSIVE INTERFERENCE, not out because he was tagged.
6-2-g: A.R. 2— If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for offensive interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was legally attained at the time of the interference. Third base still legally belonged to the runner who was called out for interference, therefore the following runner was only legally entitled to second. |
|
|||
Just curious on this sitch... how is he supposed to get back to the base with the fielder standing directly in his way?
|
|
|||
Somehow other than dropping his right shoulder and plowing into F5. I'm not arguing that the fielder is between the runner and 3B, I'm saying he dropped his shoulder, should have been MC.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The fielder has the ball and is between him and the base... why would you think there must be a way that he's "supposed" to get back to the base?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
You must have seen a different view. All I see from the video provided is a very short clip of a runner a step from the base who could be falling forward or could be lowering a shoulder.
|
|
|||
I saw the play while watching the game.
|
|
|||
So in OBR, a runner collides at home with the catcher waiting with the ball, and the runner would be ruled out for interference, and we send the previous runner who is now standing on third back to second? I've never seen that called in OBR.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
Given that there was INT during the rundown, R2 would be returned to second even if he was touching third at the time of INT. |
|
|||
Really? If that were the case, then the defense could tag a following runner who is standing on third base before tagging out a lead runner caught in a rundown between third and home, and get credited with a double play. Surely the following runner is legally entitled to third until the lead runner returns and occupies third as well.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
There's a specific comment in the rule book on this play that applies. |
|
|||
Then I guess I've been misunderstanding OBR 7.01 all these years.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
CWS Vandy/Texas | Texas Aggie | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:50pm |
Kentucky vs Vandy | CNJref | Basketball | 42 | Fri Jan 11, 2013 05:24pm |
Video Collision/OBS | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 14 | Thu Jun 03, 2010 08:10am |
Tenn vs Vandy | grunewar | Basketball | 12 | Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:01am |
Tenn-Vandy FT | bucblue | Basketball | 13 | Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:02am |