The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2014, 01:23pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex View Post
Third base still legally belonged to the runner who was called out for interference, therefore the following runner was only legally entitled to second.
Really? If that were the case, then the defense could tag a following runner who is standing on third base before tagging out a lead runner caught in a rundown between third and home, and get credited with a double play. Surely the following runner is legally entitled to third until the lead runner returns and occupies third as well.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2014, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Really? If that were the case, then the defense could tag a following runner who is standing on third base before tagging out a lead runner caught in a rundown between third and home, and get credited with a double play. Surely the following runner is legally entitled to third until the lead runner returns and occupies third as well.
Not true. He can't be tagged out if he is the only one on the base, but he doesn't legally occupy it.

There's a specific comment in the rule book on this play that applies.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2014, 02:41pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not true. He can't be tagged out if he is the only one on the base, but he doesn't legally occupy it.
Then I guess I've been misunderstanding OBR 7.01 all these years.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2014, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Then I guess I've been misunderstanding OBR 7.01 all these years.
There is a semantic problem in 7. But if you read the "his" in 7.08(c) as He is tagged...,while off a base you should be able to resolve it.

Or read this thread and see if we convinced anyone:interesting run down situation
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2014, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
There is a semantic problem in 7. But if you read the "his" in 7.08(c) as He is tagged...,while off a base you should be able to resolve it.
Actually, it is his base for the time being, but his ownership is subject to revocation should the deed holder return.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2014, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Really? If that were the case, then the defense could tag a following runner who is standing on third base before tagging out a lead runner caught in a rundown between third and home, and get credited with a double play. Surely the following runner is legally entitled to third until the lead runner returns and occupies third as well.
Yes, really. For the reasons laid out by other posters.

There is a difference between "legally entitled to" as it applies to liability to be out if tagged, and "legally acquired" as it applies to base placement after interference.

On a side note, I'm not sure how U3 can call interference here. Can someone explain that to me?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2014, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex View Post
On a side note, I'm not sure how U3 can call interference here. Can someone explain that to me?
Here's the NCAA Collision Rule:

Collision Rule
SECTION 7. The rules committee is concerned about unnecessary and violent
collisions with the catcher at home plate, and with infielders at all bases. The
intent of this rule is to encourage base runners and defensive players to avoid such
collisions whenever possible.
When there is a collision between a runner and a fielder who clearly is in
possession of the ball, the umpire shall judge:
If the defensive player blocks the base (plate) or base line with clear possession
of the ball, the runner may make contact, slide into or make contact with a fielder
as long as the runner is making a legitimate attempt to reach the base (plate).
Contact above the waist that was initiated by the base runner shall not be judged
as an attempt to reach the base or plate.
(1) The runner must make an actual attempt to reach the base (plate).
PENALTY—If the runner attempts to dislodge the ball or initiates an
avoidable collision, the runner shall be declared out, even if
the fielder loses possession of the ball. The ball is dead and all
other base runners shall return to the last base touched at the
time of the interference.
(2) The runner may not attempt to dislodge the ball from the fielder. Contact
above the waist shall be judged by the umpire as an attempt by the runner
to dislodge the ball.
PENALTY—If the contact is flagrant or malicious before the runner touches
the plate, the runner shall be declared out and also ejected from
the contest. The ball is immediately dead and all other base
runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the
interference.
(3) The runner must attempt to avoid a collision if he can reach the base
without colliding.
PENALTY—If the contact is flagrant or malicious after the runner touches
the base (plate), the runner is safe, but is ejected from the
contest. The ball is immediately dead and all other base
runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the
interference. If this occurs at any base other than home, the
offending team may replace the runner.
If the contact occurs after a preceding runner touches home
plate, the preceding runner is safe. The ball is immediately
dead and all other base runners shall return to the last base
touched at the time of the contact.
(4) If the runner’s path to the base is blocked and (1), (2) and (3) are fulfilled,
it is considered unavoidable contact (see Rule 2-54, Obstruction).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2014, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Here's the NCAA Collision Rule:

Collision Rule
SECTION 7. The rules committee is concerned about unnecessary and violent
collisions with the catcher at home plate, and with infielders at all bases. The
intent of this rule is to encourage base runners and defensive players to avoid such
collisions whenever possible.
When there is a collision between a runner and a fielder who clearly is in
possession of the ball, the umpire shall judge:
If the defensive player blocks the base (plate) or base line with clear possession
of the ball, the runner may make contact, slide into or make contact with a fielder
as long as the runner is making a legitimate attempt to reach the base (plate).
Contact above the waist that was initiated by the base runner shall not be judged
as an attempt to reach the base or plate.
(1) The runner must make an actual attempt to reach the base (plate).
PENALTY—If the runner attempts to dislodge the ball or initiates an
avoidable collision, the runner shall be declared out, even if
the fielder loses possession of the ball. The ball is dead and all
other base runners shall return to the last base touched at the
time of the interference.
(2) The runner may not attempt to dislodge the ball from the fielder. Contact
above the waist shall be judged by the umpire as an attempt by the runner
to dislodge the ball.
PENALTY—If the contact is flagrant or malicious before the runner touches
the plate, the runner shall be declared out and also ejected from
the contest. The ball is immediately dead and all other base
runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the
interference.
(3) The runner must attempt to avoid a collision if he can reach the base
without colliding.
PENALTY—If the contact is flagrant or malicious after the runner touches
the base (plate), the runner is safe, but is ejected from the
contest. The ball is immediately dead and all other base
runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the
interference. If this occurs at any base other than home, the
offending team may replace the runner.
If the contact occurs after a preceding runner touches home
plate, the preceding runner is safe. The ball is immediately
dead and all other base runners shall return to the last base
touched at the time of the contact.
(4) If the runner’s path to the base is blocked and (1), (2) and (3) are fulfilled,
it is considered unavoidable contact (see Rule 2-54, Obstruction).
Thank you for the reference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CWS Vandy/Texas Texas Aggie Baseball 4 Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:50pm
Kentucky vs Vandy CNJref Basketball 42 Fri Jan 11, 2013 05:24pm
Video Collision/OBS chuckfan1 Baseball 14 Thu Jun 03, 2010 08:10am
Tenn vs Vandy grunewar Basketball 12 Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:01am
Tenn-Vandy FT bucblue Basketball 13 Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1