![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
2) It doesn't matter anyhow because the runner was not immediately behind the "infielder". 3) Which really doesn't matter because the pitcher doesn't count as an infielder for this rule - unless he deflects the ball. But your guy isn't going to believe this anyhow.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
I told him (3) - but could not back it up using the LL book (at least not in the 10 minutes I had with him). I mentioned (2) as well with similar results. I'm not sure I agree with you on (1). He DIDN'T reach it, but not because it was not within reach - just bad timing. I confess that my knowledge of all the other rulesets is far better than my knowledge of LL rules (I only work them 1 week a year - my knowledge of their rules is mostly from this forum, tbh). In every other ruleset I could point you to the exact rule that leads you to (2) or (3). Just wondering how to show that to him in the LL book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Rita |
|
|||
It sounds like the Issue is with the interpretation of the word "passed" Imo the word would imply that it was/is a ball that a fielder had a play on but "booted" it. In the O.P. it sounds like there was no play available weather its poor timing or not, no play is no play. I guess (w/o seeing the play) that the p.u. could use his/her judgement to say that the pitcher should have made a play and that would justify voiding the b.r. being called out.
|
|
|||
It's really a matter of common sense. Why would you have that rule since theoretically every ball would pass the pitcher. Nobody would ever be out by his thinking.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that." |
|
|||
Quote:
Without having seen your play, it sounds like 2B still had a play on the ball, so the exemption for the runner would not apply, even if the pitcher is considered to be an infielder. R1 is out. No? |
|
|||
Mybe a rules reference / cite would help.
|
|
|||
I agree... and I can prove it in most rulesets. I'm having trouble proving it with just the LL book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball contacts runner, defense shorthanded | NCASAUmp | Softball | 27 | Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:13pm |
Runner gets hit by a batted ball | Zoochy | Softball | 15 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:40pm |
FED Rules- Runner hit by fair batted ball??? | ctblu40 | Baseball | 12 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:35am |
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter | wfwbb | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm |