The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 05:51am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Why is this so hard to understand? The pitcher is not considered an infielder for the purposes of this rule. No judgment necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
Why is this so hard to understand? The pitcher is not considered an infielder for the purposes of this rule. No judgment necessary.
Mybe a rules reference / cite would help.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
Why is this so hard to understand? The pitcher is not considered an infielder for the purposes of this rule. No judgment necessary.
I agree... and I can prove it in most rulesets. I'm having trouble proving it with just the LL book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 10:00am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I agree... and I can prove it in most rulesets. I'm having trouble proving it with just the LL book.
I haven't worked LL in a thousand years, so I don't have a book. When I did that level, they used modified OBR. If there was no modification, the OBR rule stood.

I can't imagine that LL rules would differ in this area, but I'm willing to be proved wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Rita posted the cite: 5.09(f) both in OBR and LLGB. Using the "did not pass rationalization" would not allow you to get an out in OBR on a base hit grounder between two infielders that passed them and hit a runner. No string theory in OBR. FED is different.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 29, 2013, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I agree... and I can prove it in most rulesets. I'm having trouble proving it with just the LL book.
I gave you the rules from the Little League book.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 30, 2013, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Is LL 5.09(f) the same as OBR 5.09(f)?:

A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an
infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder
other than the pitcher; runners advance, if forced.

If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, no other infielder has a chance to
make a play on the ball and the ball touches a runner immediately behind the
infielder that the ball went through, or by, the ball is in play and the umpire shall
not declare the runner out. If a fair ball touches a runner after being deflected by an
infielder, the ball is in play and the umpire shall not declare the runner out;

Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a fair ball touches an umpire working in the infield after it has
bounded past, or over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If a batted ball is deflected by a fielder in fair territory
and hits a runner or an umpire while still in flight and then caught by an infielder it shall not be a
catch, but the ball shall remain in play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 30, 2013, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Is LL 5.09(f) the same as OBR 5.09(f)?:

A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an
infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder
other than the pitcher
; runners advance, if forced.

If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, no other infielder has a chance to
make a play on the ball and the ball touches a runner immediately behind the
infielder that the ball went through, or by, the ball is in play and the umpire shall
not declare the runner out. If a fair ball touches a runner after being deflected by an
infielder, the ball is in play and the umpire shall not declare the runner out;

Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a fair ball touches an umpire working in the infield after it has
bounded past, or over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If a batted ball is deflected by a fielder in fair territory
and hits a runner or an umpire while still in flight and then caught by an infielder it shall not be a
catch, but the ball shall remain in play.
The LL rule has the exact same wording as the bolded part and the rest of the rule is similar except for editorial differences.

Upon further review it appears we have a problem.

Wendelstedt solves this problem by saying: "passes thru or by a fielder other than the pitcher" in their explanation of rule 7.09(k) even thought the rule does not have that exception.

I think we have to parse the rule: If the ball touches a fielder, the runner is protected. The pitcher is a fielder.
If the ball goes thru or by an infielder, the runner is protected except for the exception. The pitcher is not an infielder except where he is defined as one such as for the purpose of IFF.

But then we have the problem of the pitcher intentionally dropping a fly ball or line drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball contacts runner, defense shorthanded NCASAUmp Softball 27 Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:13pm
Runner gets hit by a batted ball Zoochy Softball 15 Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:40pm
FED Rules- Runner hit by fair batted ball??? ctblu40 Baseball 12 Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:35am
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1