View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 24, 2013, 10:13am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
So do I. However, when presented with this rule, the umpire pointed out that the ball HAD passed an infielder - the pitcher.
1) "Passed" means within reach. He didn't reach it.

2) It doesn't matter anyhow because the runner was not immediately behind the "infielder".

3) Which really doesn't matter because the pitcher doesn't count as an infielder for this rule - unless he deflects the ball.

But your guy isn't going to believe this anyhow.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote