The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by shickenbottom View Post
No, It's two strikes period for the batter stepping out with time not granted and the pitcher delivers the pitch. One on the Pitch anywhere (Location doesn't matter), AND one for stepping out of the box.
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?

Last edited by Spence; Wed Mar 13, 2013 at 10:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?
Misspoke. Its in rule 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?
It's something that you should never see.

The assumption in rule 6-2-4d and case 6.2.4I is that the batter has delayed the game by stepping out. If the umpire so judges, then, yes, two strikes can be called.

That rule and case weren't changed when the phrase "and delays the game" was added to 7-3-1 PEN. See 7.3.1F for the "right" rule -- "If the umpire felt that the game was delayed, he shall charge a strike to B1. Because of the additional strike which now has been called, the batter is declared out."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's something that you should never see.

The assumption in rule 6-2-4d and case 6.2.4I is that the batter has delayed the game by stepping out. If the umpire so judges, then, yes, two strikes can be called.

That rule and case weren't changed when the phrase "and delays the game" was added to 7-3-1 PEN. See 7.3.1F for the "right" rule -- "If the umpire felt that the game was delayed, he shall charge a strike to B1. Because of the additional strike which now has been called, the batter is declared out."
Exactly. Although 6.2.4 I seems to indicate that the penalty strike for stepping out is automatic, it is not, as supported by 7.3.1 D, F, G and H (and perhaps others).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Exactly. Although 6.2.4 I seems to indicate that the penalty strike for stepping out is automatic, it is not, as supported by 7.3.1 D, F, G and H (and perhaps others).
6.2.4(d) _is a balk for not delivering a pitch.
6.2.4(d)1 is the exception to this balk. If F1 stops or hesitates his delivery this would be a balk if not for B stepping out of the box exception. This penalty is ONLY for causing the absolved balk (he hesitated/not continuous delivery) but he does deliver the delayed/hesitated pitch. One strike for stepping out of the box, one strike for causing an (absolved) balk.

And I agree that this double penalty should be saved for the when you REALLY want to make a point.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2013, 06:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
This penalty is ONLY for causing the absolved balk (he hesitated/not continuous delivery) but he does deliver the delayed/hesitated pitch. One strike for stepping out of the box, one strike for causing an (absolved) balk.
I don't think so. One strike is for the pitch (called a strike regardless of location), the other is for violating 7-3-1 (delay of game).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2013, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
The batter needs to step out with BOTH feet in order for the umpire to call an automatic strike (6-2-4-D) If he steps out with one foot or holds up a hand asking for time and delivers a pitch it is a strike. If he steps out with only one foot or holds up his hand asking for time and the pitcher stops, it is a reset and no penalty on either the batter or hitter. Only way to have two strikes called is for the hitter to step out with BOTH feet. page 41 of NFHS rule book
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2013, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Only a fan View Post
If he steps out with one foot or holds up a hand asking for time and delivers a pitch it is a strike.
I disagree. From the way I read the rule, the batter must step completely out of the batter's box for an automatic strike to be called on the pitch. In your cases above, I'm calling the pitch the way it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2013, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
I don't think so. One strike is for the pitch (called a strike regardless of location), the other is for violating 7-3-1 (delay of game).
I have one strike for violating 7-3-1. If you have second strike and its not for violating 6-4-1(d) (no balk to absolve), what other rule violation do you have ?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2013, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
I have one strike for violating 7-3-1. If you have second strike and its not for violating 6-4-1(d) (no balk to absolve), what other rule violation do you have ?
The 6-2-4-d-1 strike is not for absolving a balk, it is for the pitch. "...if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? Freddy Basketball 13 Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm
Timeout Request Granted . . . When? Freddy Basketball 11 Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm
Timeout granted! "WRONG" MichiganOfficial Basketball 4 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm
When is it Granted--time-out som44 Basketball 7 Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm
Timeout Granted or not????? jshock Basketball 3 Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1