The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You quoted me, but missed the point entirely. No, in the play at hand, we are told where the runner is when the ball is THROWN, but no detail at all regarding where he was when the ball went out of play.

And that part is not always correct.

The correct rules were already stated. I was just clarifying the difference and missing info in the OP as compared with lawump's correct answer.
My answers were correct given the assumption I made.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
My answers were correct given the assumption I made.
Given the assumption you said, it's still not always right.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
I admit that when I posted by first two posts in this thread, I had assumed (yes, I know what happens when you assume) that the runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball became dead.

I should have read the OP more carefully. But like this post, I made those two posts late at night...not that that should be an excuse.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 21, 2012, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
About ten years ago this play engendered a very long thread on this board. As I remember, the instruction that the umpire change the award to 3B if the runner retouches appeared after that.

Discussion of this play will never die, since OBR and FED handle it differently, and there's always the issue of tipping off the defense. When I was doing ASA softball along with OBR and FED, I had to know yet another ruling: If the runner is between 2B and 3B when the throw is made, he is awarded home in all cases, even if he retouches 1B. He is prevented from retouching 1B only if he advances to the next base after the umpire makes the award (!).

I assumed I'd never see that play, but eventually I did. The runner from 1B was retracing his steps toward 2B when the outfielder threw toward 1B. The bouncing throw to 1B skipped past F3 just as the runner slid into 1B. When the ball went into DBT, the defense argued that the award should be 2B (the old one-plus-one-regardless-of-direction theory); the offense argued for 3B (2 bases from 1B); but the award was in fact home.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 31, 2012, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
If the RF erred when throwing the appeal play to first base, does this mean that the defense cannot try the appeal play again?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 31, 2012, 07:06pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If the RF erred when throwing the appeal play to first base, does this mean that the defense cannot try the appeal play again?
Depends what you mean by erred. Are you asking if the throw goes into dead ball territory?

Try and shed a little more info into your post. Always helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 31, 2012, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If the RF erred when throwing the appeal play to first base, does this mean that the defense cannot try the appeal play again?
An err for purposes of the appeal rule can only happen after play relaxes. If it happens during continuous action it does NOT kill an appeal opportunity.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
awarding bases ump50 Baseball 6 Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:41am
Awarding Bases rottiron01 Softball 14 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:29pm
Awarding bases ump66 Baseball 8 Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:39am
Awarding of Bases brumey1107 Baseball 3 Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:06pm
Awarding of Bases STEVED21 Baseball 5 Tue Jul 09, 2002 10:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1