![]() |
|
|
|||
How to correct?
High school varsity game yesterday. Runner on 1st with 1 out. Batter hits one to right-center and fielder bobbles it, then throws in general direction of 3rd base. Ball goes into dugout.
I'm the PU. I kill it when the ball goes into dugout and award R1 home. BU awards the B-R 2nd. The award should be 2 bases from time of throw on throw by outfielder, right? BU explains his call to offensive coach by saying that the B-R wasn't "half-way" to 2nd, so he only gets 2nd. BU never looked at me or asked for help on the call. Is there any way for me to fix this? If I don't, it makes me look bad. If I do, it makes him look bad. This is my 1st year, so I'm still trying to learn. Thanks in advance! |
|
|||
Quote:
If I (personally) heard his explanation, I'd have called him aside right then (interrupting his conversation with coach if necessary), and quietly talked through the rule, and let HIM correct the award.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I was sweeping plate as he was explaining the call to 3rd base coach, but they were close enough for me to hear.
I turned and tried to catch his eye, but he never looked at me. I guess I should have called him over. Of course, the other part of the problem is I'm new and he's a veteran...which introduces a whole other dynamic into the equation. I know the important thing is to get the call right, but I don't want to get a bad reputation with fellow umpires by correcting veterans. I guess I should just worry about the call and let the rest fall where it falls. Thanks for the input! |
|
|||
Quote:
When you heard him misquote the rule, you should have approached him, AWAY from the coach, explain what you thought the rule was and why ("John, I'm pretty positive that when Dave went over this in the clinic, he told us this award is two bases from where they were when the ball was released, regardless of how far off the base they were."), and then it's up to him to fix, and up to coach to protest if he fails to fix it. You can always bring it up again in post-game if he doesn't fix it, using the approach that you want to understand the rule better WITH him. If he still doesn't get that he's wrong, bring it up to your assignor.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
"Time", John can I speak to you please. "When a throw from the outfield goes into dead ball territory the award is two bases from the time of throw. The batter-runner had acheived first base and therfore, should be awarded third."
Then give your partner the oppurtunity to make the correct award. Now being a rookie, I can understand the reluctance in wanting to correct your partner however it is both of your responsibility to get the awards correct. Now if your partner refuses because he has already made up his version of the correct rule, then you are put into a bind especially being a rookie. I would probably insist on the correct ruling being made and do everything possible to make sure my partner changes his ruling. I am going to leave it at that for now because there is a whole other scenario that can be discussed if your partner refuses to make the correct ruling. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
First of all, if you partner never called to you for help, you have no business being near him. The call is his and until he calls you, you should go back to your resting place or position. Sorry to say, but if he chooses to hang himself with a "made up rule" you are not there to be a part of it
If you partner calls you out to help him, you then give him what you have and if you feel he is applying a rule incorrectly, do your best to correct him (quietly). If your partner accepts your help and chooses to correct himself, let him handle it. If your partner refuses your input, step back and let him handle it. Nothing good can come from you "sticking your nose" into the call if you are not asked for help. Further more, if the coach comes to you, just direct him back to your partner - it is not your call, it's your partner's call.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Just saying!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
To the OP: this thread introduces you to something of a generational conflict in umpiring, between the "old school" view that you should do your job and let your partner do his, and the "new school" view that the crew should work together and do whatever it takes to get the call right.
In HS baseball, too often umpires (and here I do NOT mean Ozzy) adopt the "old school" approach in order to insulate themselves from criticism or improvement. In my state, the new school is pretty firmly entrenched, and to move up and get tournament assignments umpires have to embrace it.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Does the BU award the bases to both runners? If so, then the PU should stay out of it unless asked by partner. But if each umpire is watching a different runner, and each awarding bases, then I Could see the scenario of the PU getting involved.... |
|
|||
My thought exactly. In my experience, the umpire that kills the ball makes the awards. Plus, as PU and UIC, I'm overriding my BU if he makes an incorrect award.
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
![]()
__________________
Trained by the best! Haven't missed one yet! As good as any, better than the rest! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct | cford | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am |
Was this correct?? | bigda65 | Basketball | 16 | Tue Jan 13, 2009 06:20pm |
Is this correct? | oldschool | Basketball | 47 | Wed Nov 12, 2008 07:54pm |
I'm Not Sure This is Correct...Is It? | OverAndBack | Football | 5 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 05:17pm |
did i do this correct? | JohnBark | Basketball | 22 | Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:22pm |