![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think "while he is at bat" is being taken too literally. I interpret this as a reference to when a runner advances because the IB is awarded a base or advances the runners on a batted ball. Literally - the runner should be returned. By interpretation - he does not. That this is R2 advancing on a passed ball his advancement stands. If I am the umpire - I am not returning him. The IB did not advance him. |
|
|||
|
JM,
What "causuality"? The OBR rule lists two penalties when an improper batter completes his at bat: 1) the proper batter is out. 2) any runners who had advanced by reason of the improper batter's batted ball, or were forced to advance, are returned to their original base. Those are the only two penalties. In OP1, R2 wasn't forced, and there was no batted ball. Therefore, by rule he does not return. To all--- FED and NCAA both return all runners who advanced after the improper batter had completed his time at bat. So in OP1, the runner would return if the game is played under NCAA or FED rules. OBR is different. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I still think it is a misinterpretation of the rules purpose. That is to keep runners from advancing when an IB advances them. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the OP, the at-bat was over as soon as it was ball 4. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Nor do I see supporting documentation for the other rational. Fed only. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Consider - same as in op. But this time R2 does not advance until he notices the pitcher and catcher in la-la land. Then takes 3rd without a throw. Then a BOO appeal. We sending him back there too? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This play has been discussed since Al Gore invented the interwebs, with the usual points made on both sides. You can argue what the rule *should be* but, at least in FED, it's clear what the rule *is*. |
|
|||
|
Chris,
Quote:
Quote:
And your paraphrase of the OBR rule is not exactly what it says, is it? Because a "batted ball" is in no way required, from the plain unambiguous text of the rule, in order to nullify a runner's advance. (i.e. ...because of the improper batter’s advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise." To me, the "because of" clause of the rule really just means "on a play where the batter completed his at bat". Of course, I can't "prove it". I believe the OBR, NCAA, and FED rules are all identical with regard to nullifying other runner's advances, thought the wording IS slightly different. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Ok. So on that we disagree. I agree with that.
|
|
|||
|
Which happened first, ball 4 or the WP.
Answer: Ball 4 because it was past the plate, thus ball 4 before it went by the catcher to become a WP. Therfore in ANY rules the batter was now a runner on no longer at bat. OBR 6.04 A batter has legally completed his time at bat when he is put out or becomes a runner. 6.08 The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when— (a) Four “balls” have been called by the umpire; NCAA Rule 8 SECTION 2. The batter becomes a base runner: b. Instantly after four balls have been called by the umpire; FED 8-1-1-c Synopsis: Batter becomes a runner on ball 4.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
You can take this even further by looking at the various definitions of wild pitch - all of which will tell you that a pitch is not a wild pitch unless and until someone advances a base on it. So not only is this runner's advance part of action that occurred after batter became batter-runner... but the wild pitch wasn't even a wild pitch until the runner advanced.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Something I'm not clear on with regard to BOO. Take this sit:
R3, 1-1 count, and a) 2 outs, b) 0 or 1 out. On a WP, R3 advances and scores. After R3 scores, B1's coach realizes B1 is BOO. The coach corrects the BOO and sends in the correct batter. Does the run stand? There's in effect no penalty for BOO if corrected before the at bat completes? Also, with regard to when the at-bat ends. Say R3, 1-2 count, and a) 2 outs, b) 0 or 1 out. B1 swings and misses, and the ball gets by F2. R3 advances and scores, and B1 is safe at first. Does the at bat end on the third strike as well? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Continuous action? | umpjim | Baseball | 29 | Sat Nov 07, 2009 08:25pm |
| Continuous motion? | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 19 | Wed Oct 01, 2008 07:18pm |
| "Continuous Action"? | Yeggman | Softball | 6 | Wed Dec 14, 2005 08:52am |
| Continuous Motion | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 20 | Sun Dec 28, 2003 03:01pm |
| continuous motion | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 1 | Thu Nov 01, 2001 09:48pm |