The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 07, 2010, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
He wasn't being sarcastic--he was trying to point you to the rules basis so that you could figure it out for yourself, which will likely stick with you better than if he had just answered, "No."

Edit: By the way, you didn't mention a rule set, so assuming OBR, this would be rule 4.09a, which I'll quote below:

Quote:
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES

(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Your play exactly matches exception #3.

Last edited by celebur; Wed Jul 07, 2010 at 01:27pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is an appeal a play? TussAgee11 Baseball 6 Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:55am
Appeal Play goldcoastump Softball 8 Sun May 11, 2008 11:53am
Appeal play Tommy P Baseball 13 Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:00pm
Appeal play Largo20 Baseball 1 Wed May 29, 2002 05:18pm
ASA appeal play oppool Softball 2 Fri Feb 23, 2001 10:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1