The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
In OBR, and FED, when correcting base running errors, bases must be touched in the reverse order. There is a "last time by" concept that says if a base is missed while passing it, that error is corrected if that base is subsequently touched the last time by. In this instance, the "last time by" concept does not apply since there was no effort to touch third at all and is concidered a gross miss. On a dead ball situation, although there are slight differences between FED and OBR, once a runner advances to the next base, that runner cannot legally return to correct a baserunning infraction.

In both instances, a valid appeal would be upheld at second due to the runner not correcting the error before reaching the next base during a dead ball. A valid appeal would also be upheld at third for not correctly running the bases in reverse order. The gross miss nullifies the "last time by" principle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
I agree on the appeals.

Dead Ball situation is different than Live Ball I think. When the ball is dead, A runner can't return to touch a missed base once she has acquired the next base. A runner is considered to have acquired the base once they pass that base even if it is not touched, so once the runner passed 3B the first time, she acquired 3B and could not return to touch 2B. Same thing on the second scenario also.

That's how I would have reasoned and ruled. Enlighten me please.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
I agree on the appeals.

Dead Ball situation is different than Live Ball I think. When the ball is dead, A runner can't return to touch a missed base once she has acquired the next base. A runner is considered to have acquired the base once they pass that base even if it is not touched, so once the runner passed 3B the first time, she acquired 3B and could not return to touch 2B. Same thing on the second scenario also.

That's how I would have reasoned and ruled. Enlighten me please.
In FED you can't return if you are at/beyond the next base from your last legally touched base at the time the ball went dead.

In OBR you cannot return if you touch the next base beyond where you physically were after the ball went dead.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 09:41pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
In FED you can't return if you are at/beyond the next base from your last legally touched base at the time the ball went dead.

In OBR you cannot return if you touch the next base beyond where you physically were after the ball went dead.
Ball was dead when it left the yard.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Ball was dead when it left the yard.
I know that.

BUT txump81 said and highlighjted

A runner can't return to touch a missed base once she has acquired the next base.

And that's not necessarily true - so I posted the rules.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 05:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
So in OBR, the BR in the OP would have to touch 3B then 2B then 3B then HP and she would be OK?

In LL, according to 7.10b, the BR in the OP is just SOL. Once she passed 3B, she can't go back and touch 2B even though she hasn't touched 3B. This looks to be the same in FED rules also.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
So in OBR, the BR in the OP would have to touch 3B then 2B then 3B then HP and she would be OK?

In LL, according to 7.10b, the BR in the OP is just SOL. Once she passed 3B, she can't go back and touch 2B even though she hasn't touched 3B. This looks to be the same in FED rules also.
Can't go back in either because the runner screwed up in both rule sets..

But there are differences in the rules.

Play - fly ball to deep RF. R1 goes past 2B. Fly ball is caught. F9 throws to 1B to double off R! but the ball goes out of play. At the time it went dead R1 was still past 2B.

In FED he cannot legally return to 1B because he was at/past the next base at the time the ball went dead.

In OBR he can legally return. He would only forfeit the right if he touched 3B after the ball went dead.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2010, 09:28am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Ball was dead when it left the yard.
I prefer to use the term the ball is on life support since you still can have coaches' interference. I would think the term, end of playing action, would be more appropriate.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2010, 10:35pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
I prefer to use the term the ball is on life support since you still can have coaches' interference. I would think the term, end of playing action, would be more appropriate.
Coach interference, on a home run? How you figure? In any event, the correct term is the ball is dead when it leaves the yard.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2010, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Fed rules?

If she remained in fair territory, I would allow her to correct the base running mistake. If after passing third, she steps into foul territory, I would rule on the missed base appeal.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2010, 05:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Coach interference, on a home run? How you figure? In any event, the correct term is the ball is dead when it leaves the yard.
BR rounds 3B and misses the base, 3BC grabs BR and stops him/her to keep them from reaching the plate.

Coach Interference, BR is out.

It could happen. Anything is possible.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 06:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
In this instance, the "last time by" concept does not apply since there was no effort to touch third at all and is considered a gross miss.
Citation please.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 08:45am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Citation please.
Someone will correct me if I am wrong but I believe "gross miss" is a J/R term.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Citation please.

Common sense and a sense of fair play. Plus it violates the spirit of the rule. You cannot cut across the field with no attempt to touch and then be legal on a subsequent touch.

I don't know if "gross miss" is a J/R term or not. When the last time by concept was put into effect, the term gross miss was used to describe situations such as this.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Common sense and a sense of fair play. Plus it violates the spirit of the rule. You cannot cut across the field with no attempt to touch and then be legal on a subsequent touch.

I don't know if "gross miss" is a J/R term or not. When the last time by concept was put into effect, the term gross miss was used to describe situations such as this.
These expressions in my experience accompany somebody making crap up. I don't recollect "gross miss" from J/R. I'll check when I get home, but if anyone knows where that is I'd like to see it.

And nothing about cutting across the diamond violates the "spirit" of "last time by": indeed, in the OP the runner touched the base on his last time by, so he not only observed the spirit but also the letter of the rule. Cutting across the diamond does violate the "spirit" of "every time by," but that's not a rule.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed base - what to do, what to do? Linknblue Softball 36 Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:33pm
Homerun, Catch, 2 base award? DaveASA/FED Softball 17 Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:54am
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1