![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Ball was dead when it left the yard.
|
|
|||
|
I know that.
BUT txump81 said and highlighjted A runner can't return to touch a missed base once she has acquired the next base. And that's not necessarily true - so I posted the rules.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
So in OBR, the BR in the OP would have to touch 3B then 2B then 3B then HP and she would be OK?
In LL, according to 7.10b, the BR in the OP is just SOL. Once she passed 3B, she can't go back and touch 2B even though she hasn't touched 3B. This looks to be the same in FED rules also. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But there are differences in the rules. Play - fly ball to deep RF. R1 goes past 2B. Fly ball is caught. F9 throws to 1B to double off R! but the ball goes out of play. At the time it went dead R1 was still past 2B. In FED he cannot legally return to 1B because he was at/past the next base at the time the ball went dead. In OBR he can legally return. He would only forfeit the right if he touched 3B after the ball went dead.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I will hope it never happens and when it does I will rule to the best of my ability based off this info and then sell the h3!! out of it to the irate coach. Honestly, I don't think a coach would know the difference. At least not the ones I have umpired for. They know the basics and only care about the advanced stuff IF it benefits them. I'm not saying I have the attitude of I'm right and you're wrong. I always do the best I can at anything and in the heat of the moment sometimes you have a brain fart. It happens to everyone. That is why I am on here, trying to learn all the intricacies (sp?) of the rules. |
|
|||
|
They still don't know the advanced stuff when it benefits them. They only think they know it, and try to twist it to make it work for them.
|
|
|||
|
Absolutely!!! You have summed it up nicely. I was a little vague.
|
|
|||
|
And, if I remember past discussions, he would originally be awarded home, but once he retouched 1B, the award would change to 3B.
|
|
|||
|
I prefer to use the term the ball is on life support since you still can have coaches' interference. I would think the term, end of playing action, would be more appropriate.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
Coach interference, on a home run? How you figure? In any event, the correct term is the ball is dead when it leaves the yard.
|
|
|||
|
Fed rules?
If she remained in fair territory, I would allow her to correct the base running mistake. If after passing third, she steps into foul territory, I would rule on the missed base appeal.
__________________
SAump
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Coach Interference, BR is out. It could happen. Anything is possible. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Missed base - what to do, what to do? | Linknblue | Softball | 36 | Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:33pm |
| Homerun, Catch, 2 base award? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 17 | Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:54am |
| HR, missed base | Jay R | Baseball | 18 | Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm |
| FED - Missed base | PeteBooth | Baseball | 2 | Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm |
| Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |