Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
7.08 (e) "Any runner is out when he fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner." supports 7.01, although it does not include the batter/runner.
Therefore, by rule, tie goes to the fielder, except for the batter/runner at first base.
Right.
|
I agree that 7.08 fits with 7.01. They're both inconsistent with 6.05(j), which I've suggested is disregarded in practice. To conclude that "by rule" the situation is clear is to deny the existence of 6.05.
As I read them, 7.08 and 7.01 are more general than 6.05, since they pertain to all runners, not just the batter-runner.