The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:19pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
So are you saying that not only does the batter have a strike, but offense loses a stolen base on the foul tip? Would it be wrong to keep R1 at 2B since he had the base stolen?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
So are you saying that not only does the batter have a strike, but offense loses a stolen base on the foul tip? Would it be wrong to keep R1 at 2B since he had the base stolen?
I believe it would be up to the umpires judgment whether the running would have made it safely to 2b or not if the umpire did not make a mistake. HOWEVER, since the offense (ie HC @ 3b) caused the confusion I would consider that as well.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I believe it would be up to the umpires judgment whether the running would have made it safely to 2b or not if the umpire did not make a mistake. HOWEVER, since the offense (ie HC @ 3b) caused the confusion I would consider that as well.

-Josh
In general this is correct. If we're still talking about the OP, 2 points are worth noting in deciding how to fix the matter:

1. R1 had the base stolen, and the throw was behind him to F4.
2. The BASE UMPIRE, having heard the coach, told him to return to 1B because it was a foul ball. (And he did that having seen his partner signal a foul tip and a strike -- blows my mind.)

To fix #2, take into account #1 and put R1 on 2B. The pitch was a strike. Play ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
In general this is correct. If we're still talking about the OP, 2 points are worth noting in deciding how to fix the matter:

1. R1 had the base stolen, and the throw was behind him to F4.
2. The BASE UMPIRE, having heard the coach, told him to return to 1B because it was a foul ball. (And he did that having seen his partner signal a foul tip and a strike -- blows my mind.)

To fix #2, take into account #1 and put R1 on 2B. The pitch was a strike. Play ball.
I agree no out but I disagree putting him on second. In effect base umpire THOUGHT it was foul and acted accordingly. That being the case you either treat this sitch. as a foul ball OR you don't and have an out. Can't have it both ways. Put runner back on first and play on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:25pm
cc6 cc6 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 222
There must be a FED rule that allows you to change the status of runners if they are put out due to umpire's error. There is no such rule in OBR.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc6 View Post
There must be a FED rule that allows you to change the status of runners if they are put out due to umpire's error. There is no such rule in OBR.
True, but there is precedent when a stealing runner was called "out" on ball 4, left the base, then was tagged again. The umpires put him back on second.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon30307 View Post
I agree no out but I disagree putting him on second. In effect base umpire THOUGHT it was foul and acted accordingly. That being the case you either treat this sitch. as a foul ball OR you don't and have an out. Can't have it both ways. Put runner back on first and play on.
By rule, you can't treat this as a foul ball. The ball was not batted.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
By rule, you can't treat this as a foul ball. The ball was not batted.
Michael,

Huh?!?!

Sure it was. It was a "foul tip" which, by definition is "..a batted ball...".

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
By rule, you can't treat this as a foul ball. The ball was not batted.
Ok than you have an out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 05:05pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
There is a lesson to be learned.

Do not repeat something you did not originally call. This all would have been avoided if the umpire just called the play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:11pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I believe it would be up to the umpires judgment whether the running would have made it safely to 2b or not if the umpire did not make a mistake. HOWEVER, since the offense (ie HC @ 3b) caused the confusion I would consider that as well.

-Josh
yep for sure...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:15pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
I have to defend my partner in this case. I am known for have a pretty loud voice when necessary and the HC yelled "foul ball" pretty loud. It was a windy day, and my partner was sure that it was me yelling "foul ball". Remember, under NFHS rules, once an umpire declares a ball foul it is foul even if it is really fair. BUT, it was not an umpire that was yelling "foul ball", it was the HC. This whole fiasco started when the HC yelled "foul ball", and he put in runner in jeapordy (his runner stopped short of second base and turned back toward first base when his HC yelled "foul ball" not because my partner said anything to him, the runner was already heading back to first base) not my partner.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:19pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
okay, well in that case, we send R1 back to 1B...he never reached 2B...if BU doesn't say anything and just stays with the ball, you can call him out w/o any course of argument...tough sitch...he simply screwed up...just like everybody else on this board.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I have to defend my partner in this case.

It was a windy day, and my partner was sure that it was me yelling "foul ball". BUT, it was not an umpire that was yelling "foul ball", it was the HC. This whole fiasco started when the HC yelled "foul ball", and he put in runner in jeapordy (his runner stopped short of second base and turned back toward first base when his HC yelled "foul ball" not because my partner said anything to him, the runner was already heading back to first base) not my partner.

MTD, Sr.
From your OP

Quote:
he pointed to First base and told R1 to return to first base
For all practical purposes your partner thought that You said "Foul Ball" and acted accordingly by instructing R1 to retrun to first base where he was tagged out by the defense.


As stated in my original response your OP is similar to case play 10-2-3E and your partner's instruction to R1 is what placed R1 in jeopardy and therefore, the situation should have been rectified.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is going on with ML baseball umpires PeteBooth Baseball 96 Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:19am
Don't you love when coaches say "learn the rules blue" and they are 100% wrong? drumbum565 Baseball 21 Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:38pm
You Gotta Love Youth Coaches Ed Hickland Football 12 Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:55am
Coaches, ya gotta love 'em scottk_61 Softball 1 Wed Jun 25, 2003 10:43am
NCAA Baseball Umpires manhong Baseball 5 Sun Apr 13, 2003 08:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1