The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Hate to disagree, but a rule misapplication must be corrected prior to the next pitch.

Rule 4.19 Comment: Whenever a manager protests a game because of alleged misapplication of the rules the protest will not be recognized unless the umpires are notified at the time the play under protest occurs and before the next pitch, play or attempted play

This is clearly a rules misapplication. (brain fart maybe, but clearly a rules misapplication)

Note 1-2-3 i 1 for NFHS

Last edited by umpjong; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 10:07am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
Use common sense and fair play. Call the kid out and fix it. This isn't an appeal, and I know what the rule says.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:19am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Can all FED games be protested? Or are there state jurisdiction rules around that? I can't remember ever hearing/reading about any protests here in MN
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

johnny,

Under FED, protests are a "...by state adoption..." provision in the rules. See 4-5.

In Illinois, the IHSA has chosen not to entertain protests.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 10:31am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
that would explain it.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
Hate to disagree, but a rule misapplication must be corrected prior to the next pitch.

Rule 4.19 Comment: Whenever a manager protests a game because of alleged misapplication of the rules the protest will not be recognized unless the umpires are notified at the time the play under protest occurs and before the next pitch, play or attempted play

This is clearly a rules misapplication. (brain fart maybe, but clearly a rules misapplication)

Note 1-2-3 i 1 for NFHS
I'm not sure what FED rule you meant to cite, but 1-2-3 concerns the location and size of the on-deck circle. There is no case 1.2.3 (i) or any other case 1.2.3 in the 2009 book.

FED leaves more leeway than OBR for umpires to correct their own errors, especially when it puts one team at a disadvantage not intended by the rules. See, for example, the cases concerning a check swing where the BU overrules and his doing so puts the BR or R1 at a disadvantage.

Still, the "till the next pitch" provision is included so that we don't have to go back and replay innings when the screwup is discovered much later. We need that provision, arbitrary as it might be.

Interesting case: I believe that strictly speaking we have till the next pitch to fix an error, and in the OP that pitch has passed. OTOH, it was just 1 pitch, and it seems unfair to the defense to skip the out.

I guess I'd be interested to hear more responses, especially those with rules or cases behind them (not just: "hey, that doesn't seem fair to me!").
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
My only question is this.

If you are going to correct it after a pitch, how far will you go before you decide it is no longer correctable? 2 pitches, 3, 4, next batter takes 2 pitches,.... How many before you hit a cut off point?

Tough thing to do since there are no rules to cover correcting something. I find this difficult for 1 reason. This is not protestable until 1 pitch has been thrown. But, no protest is supposed to be done if 1 pitch has been thrown. I would side with correcting it and call the batter out. If it is protested(either correcting it or not), it is a 50/50 chance to be upheld.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
This is not protestable until 1 pitch has been thrown.
Not sure why you'd say that. In Ohio it's not "protestable" at all. But this isn't BOO.

The D coach should have requested time immediately and asked why the batter was not out for bunting foul with 2 strikes. There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATUMP View Post
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
There is no rule to support it either way. except 9.01 (c)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATUMP View Post
There's no limit on when the coach can discuss the issue, just on when the umpire can fix it.

this brings me back to my original question. what is the rule support on when the umpire can fix it?
You do not need rule support. Remember the Indians / O's game a few years back?

A run was put back on the board some 3 innings later.

In the OP you fix the problem. Everything that happened after B1 bunted a ball foul with 2 strikes and 2 outs is null and void NO MATTER when discovered as EVIDENCED by MLB ruling concerning the Inidans / O's game. The link is posted below in case you are interested

MLB denies protest by Indians - MLB - ESPN

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 01:48pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
only if it would've been the third out though right?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
You do not need rule support. Remember the Indians / O's game a few years back?

A run was put back on the board some 3 innings later.

In the OP you fix the problem. Everything that happened after B1 bunted a ball foul with 2 strikes and 2 outs is null and void NO MATTER when discovered as EVIDENCED by MLB ruling concerning the Inidans / O's game. The link is posted below in case you are interested

MLB denies protest by Indians - MLB - ESPN

Pete Booth
Pete,

I would argue that these are the same. A scoring error may be fixed at any time, even post-game in certain cases. Scoring errors typically do not directly impact the immediate action on the field but rather add/remove runs.

This is a playing rule mistake where there is a specific time limit set for protest / fix. In this case the manager had his chance & missed it - let a pitch go by.

In OBR we have to eat this and play on on. If a protest is filed so be it, let the league decide. In FED we CAN fix this due to the wider latitude given umpires for this sort of situation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Score the run?

When an umpire errs, both teams are required to know the situation.
Here a bunt foul for strike three results in an out. Three outs end an innning.
Defense should recognize the third out and clear the field. No.
Defense provides the same batter with a do-over pitch.
Batter singles and a run is scored.
Coach then decides to investigate the matter.
If we overlook the bunt foul, clearly we play on and the run counts.
But if we recognize the third out and clear the field, does the run still count?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 08:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I'm not sure what FED rule you meant to cite, but 1-2-3 concerns the location and size of the on-deck circle. There is no case 1.2.3 (i) or any other case 1.2.3 in the 2009 book.
My boo boo should be 10-2-3 i 1 pg 65
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have never had this situation. jwwashburn Baseball 9 Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:30am
8.7 SITUATION A assignmentmaker Basketball 12 Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:44am
Help with situation Ebayref Basketball 17 Wed Apr 13, 2005 03:35pm
Another FT situation John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 1 Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:45am
DQ Situation Ron Basketball 4 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1